Mind Over Material

February 10, 2010 at 4:51 pm | Posted in Lollipop | 9 Comments

Lollipop likes to dress herself. Perhaps this understates the situation a little.

Lollipop must refuse, on principle, the outfits I select for her. She must choose a dark-horse option. One that she has concocted in her mind, the exact right combination of color and texture and pattern and sequins.

And she never forgets, no matter what, under any circumstances, to accessorize.

Anything less than a 100-percent-certified Lollipop creation will result in a meltdown that would get SuperNanny to my door on the next red-eye. Or law enforcement. So I choose my battles. Wardrobe is not one of them.

Bananas or Boas?
At 7:30 a.m., when we are already late for preschool and I’m stuffing Cheerios in a Ziploc so she can scarf them down in the car because there’s no time to actually sit at the table and, you know, breathe while we eat, let alone get a serving of fruit in there somewhere, and Lollipop comes downstairs wearing her leopard pants, monkey sweatshirt, tutu, and cherry hat … Well, on those mornings, I Let. It. Go.

But I do have a rule. When she wakes up, I tell her the temperature on the outdoor thermometer. This dictates whether much-despised pants, long-sleeved shirts, and jackets must figure into the day’s ensemble. But she does understand it’s the machine making her wear pants, not me. (Sometimes, I am brilliant.)

And she can still accessorize at will. Of course.

Lollipop Couture: Cowboy Hat + Princess Pajamas + Mermaid Dress + Frog Boots

Processing … Please Wait
So, Lollipop wakes. I provide her with the magic number. Blink, blink, blink. Churn, churn, churn. She rummages through baskets and drawers and piles. She chooses, changes her mind, chooses again. She puts on a hat, then swaps it out. She pauses. Blink, blink, blink. She smiles. Ding, ding, ding! We have a winner.

Then we rush to the car, buckle up, go back inside for the sippy cup we forgot, buckle up again, point at the cat on top of the neighbor’s car, wonder why the heater isn’t working, spill the Cheerios, hit Giggles with our hat, request NPR be silenced in favor of the “Yellow Car” song, dust the dog hair off the spilled Cheerios and eat them anyway, hit Giggles with our hat, toss our jacket on the floorboard and hope no one will notice, politely ask the red lights to turn green already please, hit Giggles with our hat, inhale the last three Cheerios, and … whew, we are finally at school.

And, man, we look good.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Can’t wait for those days!

  2. Oh dear God, this is my child in a year! I just know it. Breathe. As long as she is dressed right?

  3. Our daughters would get along swimmingly…

  4. I have one of those. My youngest. The only I boundaries I place are pants/shirt or dress (depending on the school day or what we are doing). I stopped caring how well or not well the kids matched when I realized they would dress themselves. That? It was a good day.

  5. Luckily, we’re not into the picking her own wardrobe phase yet. Although she has been putting on a toddler-size sari that my best friend brought her from India a lot lately. It’s awfully cute.

  6. Lollipop is awesome. I’m with you – choose your battles. Although I do announce VERY LOUDLY when we get to preschool – “MUNCHIE DECIDED TO DRESS HERSELF TODAY”… y’know, just so they know I didn’t dress my child like a bag lady.

  7. That is some outfit! I have a feeling my daughter is going to be the same way when she gets a little older. She already kinda fusses if she’s not wearing what she wants, but she’s still young enough that I can brush it off.

  8. Adorable! And what a coincidence – I was just reading Fancy Nancy yesterday. I think Sophia is a little Nancy!

  9. Congratulations on coming up with the thermometer blame thing, I am impressed that it works! Our daughter for some reason will not accept your attitude: Granddaughter must be dressed correctly! When visiting our house color coordination is not a goal, but a dream.


Leave a Reply

Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 260 other followers