Me Time

April 5, 2010 at 11:00 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 24 Comments

It’s time … for a little me time. I wonder if I can do it.

Because when Justine tagged me to share 10 things about myself, I thought: Fun! And then: Is it possible to say 10 whole things about me? All the things I first came up with were really about my precious kiddos. Because they are me, and I am them, and some days it’s tricky to separate the two. (This is why I bop to nursery rhymes.)

So. Me. Time. A challenge. But a fun one. Better than a solo trip to Target. Almost as good as a lazy Saturday on the couch with a good book. And made just the tiniest bit easier with a bowl full of Cadburys within reach.

+++

1. I am a creature of habit.
I get the same thing at Starbucks. I eat out at the same places.  I watch the same movie over and over and over. I went through a Pretty in Pink phase in college, wherein my roommate would come back from class every day at 2 p.m. and find me doing homework while Andie and Blane worked to find a détente between the “richies” and the poor kids. All semester long. With Bun, it’s been One Fine Day. Every night. As I try to fall asleep. (How my husband tolerates this little habit of mine, I’m still not sure.)

2. I love rain.
The grayer, cloudier, drizzlier it is, the happier I am. There’s just something about a good thunderstorm that’s like a soothing balm for my frayed soul. Perhaps because I can stay inside and get away with it …

3. I love sleep.
One of my husband’s nicknames for me is 12-12. Because my body prefers to function for 12 hours, then sleep for 12 hours. It’s my steady state, my strange Circadian rhythm. I was the kid whose parents had to wake her up on Christmas morning because I loved sleep more than Santa. (Sadly, my offspring seem not to have inherited this trait.)

4. I am crafty.
I have mad skills with a glue-gun. Also with markers, paint, and googly eyes. I love to make Halloween costumes and birthday cards and diaper cakes. I have a huge box of craft stuff taking up space that could be used for more useful things like, say, Christmas lights or drill bits. And although my husband doesn’t necessarily understand why I need pipe cleaners in 13 colors, he occasionally dips into the box himself to help Lollipop and Giggles make something for Mommy. Bless him.

5. I am crafty. But.
I do not know how to use a sewing machine. The very word “bobbin” makes my heart palpitate. The one thing I can sew is a button, and that’s gotten me pretty far in life. I think I’ll stop there.

6. I’m a lefty.
A Southpaw. And proud of it. I was the only lefty in my third-grade class, and my teacher “taught” me cursive by having me trace the penmanship book on transparency paper. (Oh, sweet overhead projectors!) I hated the smudges the pens left on my hand, but my cursive is pretty darn perfect. Also, I secretly, desperately, hope one of my kiddos ends up a lefty. Because it’s fun. It’s different. And people are always saying to me, “I’ve never seen anyone write like that.”

7. I run.
Not fast. But I’m out there. I like it because it’s me racing against me. Against my last time. Against all the anxiety in my head. Against the physical stress I sometimes let take over my body. I lace up my shoes (Asics or New Balance only, please), hit the concrete, feel the endorphins kick in, and let it all melt away.

8. I’ve read every Jane Austen novel.
When Husband and I backpacked across Europe, we were constantly on the lookout for good, cheap books in English. Jane Austen’s oeuvre fit the bill, so I devoured each one. In general, though, I tend to read fluff. When I finally find time to sit down and plow through a book, I want something easy, happy, fun. My current favorite authors? Jennifer Crusie, Janet Evanovich, Emily Giffin, and Nora Roberts. Excellent beach reads, if anyone is looking.

9. I keep score.
At baseball games. BB, WP, K, L8, RBI … I’ve got the lingo down. And I can’t wait to teach this rapidly fading cultural art to my children.

10. But I hate keeping score.
Anything that requires me to compete against you, I’d rather not, thanks. During college football season or the Olympics or anything that could be described as “fierce competition,” I have to wait till it’s over, Google the results, then watch the game/match/event. Also, I adore Scrabble. But when I play, I want everyone to use up all their tiles so we all win. (Yea!) And then we can hold hands and sing Kumbayah around the campfire with our s’mores.

+++

Now that I’ve got you craving marshmallows and adding Molly Ringwald classics to your Netflix queue, what’s something interesting about you? Do you love rain, or is that just me? What’s your best Scrabble word ever?

24 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love this post! It’s nice to learn a little more about you!

    I like rain, but only when I really am able to stay inside and curl up with blankets and a good movie and/or book. If I have to go out in it, or I want to be outside….bah!

    I watch movies over and over again too!

    Scrabble. I want to win.

  2. Excellent me time.

    I’m very much a creature of habbit too. I don’t run, but I like to work out.

  3. Jane Austen fans of the world unite! Are you familiar with the BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice? One of my absolute favorite movies – beware: it might just become another one that you watch over and over!

    • The Colin Firth one?? Oh, yes! (Swoon.) Or, wasn’t there a more recent remake? I don’t think I’ve seen that one.

      • Can I join your impromptu Jane Austen fan club? And if the Colin firth Pride and Prejudice BBC adaptation is in there, all the better! One time I offered my kids MONEY to watch it with me, guaranteeing them that they would fall in love with the story by halfway through or they wouldn’t have to continue. By halfway through I was alone. Sob.

  4. Okay. Since you asked, I adore the rain. But I really like hard, fierce thunderstorms that feel like they’ll never quit. I like all kinds of rain when I don’t have to go anywhere or do anything–which is rare. And I REALLY like rain on a Saturday when it’s just me and book…but that NEVER happens anymore. So, I’ll live through you.

    And Scrabble? Am addicted to Words with Friends on my iPhone these days.

    Loved your list. And laughed at the 12-12…I have a good friend who is exactly the same way, so I just pictured you in her, or vice versa, and smiled. :)

  5. I love a good thunderstorm. (Even with our most recent flood event!)

    I am not competitive. One of the least fun times I ever had was playing Gin Rummy with three of my siblings. I didn’t have a “strategy,” like they all did – but I kept winning. Completely pissed them off and I’ve refused to play with them ever since.

    I love, love, love Nora Roberts. Do you read any of the J.D. Robb series? Really dig those.

    And even though I’m a reader and was an English major, I’m not so into Scrabble. All my good words leave me!

    • I love the J.D. Robb series! I’m a few behind right now, but they’re in my bedside “pile.” =>

  6. I’m with Sarah–the good HARD storms are the best!

    Love me some Jane Austen!! Emma is my favorite.

    I don’t play Scrabble, which is odd, since I love words. I guess I’m just not much of a “game” kind of person.

  7. I can be a creature of habit too; I consciously have to remember to shake things up a bit. And I’ve read every Austen novel of course!!

  8. I am definitely a creature of habit…I resonate with all except I do sew and I’m not left handed, however I do have a left handed child.

  9. I like thunderstorms, but not dreary grey rainy days.

    I keep score at baseball games too!

    But I don’t run, and I’m not craft. I wish I did both though!

  10. That would be “crafty”…

  11. I am not crafty. In fact, I hate crafts. Sometimes I wonder if that is just my inward rebelliousness. : )

    Oh, I love rain too. But I hate snow. I know, same clouds, same moisture, but rain doesn’t stick. Snow does. Yuck.

    As for Jane Austen? I really loved Persuasion. I have read just about all of her books and have found that I (sadly) enjoy the movies much more than the books. Hmmm…..

    Stacia, it was lovely getting to know you a bit better!! I hope that you are FEELING better!!

  12. I totally relate to having a hard time separating kids from self. I think this will vex me big some day. I am a total creature of habit, of routine. I have 8 huge garden beds and I always plant my carrots in the same bed, year after 12th year. It’s just where they go.
    And I love Colorado summer thunderstorms. They enliven me!
    Thanks for sharing,
    Rachel

  13. OK – so I am definitely a reader as well – - my husband laughs because I will read anything I can get my hands on – - even if I don’t like it I will finish it because I NEED to have something to read – at all times. I have no less than 15 books stacked beside my bed. Some I have read over and over and over – and others are still “new” to me. Maybe we should start a book exchange?!?! And Scrabble – - my FAVORITE game in the world! My grandfather can always use all his letters on the last turn to get that extra 100 points – so thats what I strive towards! Hope all is well with you!!!

  14. Love the rain, love it (in moderation though….)
    I hate to admit this, but I have yet to read anything by Jane Austen. I know I’m so far behind… I wouldn’t even know which one to read first!

  15. I adore a good thunderstorm too. The anticipation of one, the smell, the sudden drop in temp. LOVE IT. And everytime I think of Molly Ringwald I think of the breakfast club. I hated her dress in pretty in pink. I think it was just a few years befoe my time.

  16. I love rain but I have to say, Arizona is not suited for rain. No gutters, no sewers, the desert floods, trees crash down, roofs leak. It’s not pretty.

    Funny about the bobbins. My mother sewed nonstop when I was growing up and I learned more about sewing than I ever wanted to. I couldn’t sew proper patterns but I could turn jeans into a skirt in no time!

  17. Really enjoyed getting to know you more. Before I had kids a rainy day was just the ticket, because it was the perfect excuse to curl up with a good book, a hot cup of coffee and just read for hours. This, sadly, is no longer. A rainy day now just means we are stuck inside trying to entertain kids with so much pent up energy.

    Oh and I do love me a good fluff book…or rather, I call them inhalers, because I just read them so fast. I try to intersperse them with heavier/thinking books. These days, if I get to read ANY books, I’m happy.

  18. :) Something about me? I love dirty feet. They mean that you have been outside, enjoying the day. And I take lots of pictures of my kids’ feet. Which is really weird considering I HATE pedicured feet. The idea of a pedicure is kind of… creepy to me.

  19. I love the rain — especially RUNNING in the rain! And I am a creature of habit — but my children have taught me the great gift of FLEXIBILITY. And all my friends rejoice ;)
    I like that you made the post about you. My husband and I pay a lot of attention to that when we go out on a date. Because it’s easy to forget each other beyond our children. (And they are so cute and fun to talk about… but so are WE, right?)

  20. I adore rain. And, I am totally a creature of habit, too.

  21. Holy cow – I can’t believe I left Jane Austen off my list! Is someone going to revoke my fan club membership now?

    Great list, Stacia. I wish I enjoyed the rain as you do. That way the thought of moving to the Northwest wouldn’t depress me as much.

    My Guy would love it if I slept more and watched a movie more than once because he’s all about them. I already barely find time for everything I need to do with 5 hours of sleep, I’m not sure what would happen if I added 7 hours more!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers