Reason #173

November 23, 2011 at 6:06 pm | Posted in Me, Transylvania | 12 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Reason #173 I miss the USA: Michaels.

Yes, Michaels.

Aisles and aisles of ribbon. (Solids. Polk dots. Stripes. Glitter. Wired or nonwired.) Tubs of buttons. Tubes of finger paint. Bags of beads. Yarn. Pipe cleaners. Felt. Hot glue, Elmer’s glue, fabric glue, wood glue, tacky glue, glue sticks.

Styrofoam. Styrofoam.

I better stop before I make myself cry.

See, I don’t have any of the other crafty goodness I mentioned above. I’m having to improvise. To let go of perfection. To lower my creative standards. And be cheerful about it. (You saw how that turned out with the reindeer.)

Add pages and pages of Pinterest craft ideas tempting me with descriptions like “quick,” “simple,” “adorable,” and “no-sewing required.” I’ve spent the week feeling like a big fat 3/4-inch-circle-scrapbook-punch-less crafting failure.

Felt flower tutorial: fail.
Scrap wreath tutorial: fail.
Baby footprint ornament: fail.

Like I said: Big. Fat. Feltless. Failure.  Until I saw this one.

I turned on Christmas Vacation and watched Clark fumble his way through twinkle lights as I made pompoms from one of the two precious skeins of yarn I had brought with me from the States. I wrapped-and-tied-and-cut-and-strung and wrapped-and-tied-and-cut-and-strung and wrapped-and-tied-and-cut-and-strung all the way through the pass-the-Tylenol speech.

And then I put my garland on the tree. And it was lovely.

But the best part? It’s fabricat în România. By me.

Now, what was I saying about Michaels??

How do you let go of perfection? Are you a crafty person? And what store would you miss most if you moved far away?

+++

I’m a Real Woman of Pinterest. So are my friends MEP and Erin. Come see what we’ve all been making and join in the fun (feltless or otherwise)!

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It is all in the eye of the beholder!! I think your crafts turned out great! I especially liked the wreaths… no it did not turn out like the original, but it looked great and was yours… all yours!! I love it!!

  2. I am not crafty. I want very much to be crafty. I look at crafty things and think – I could totally do that. But then I don’t follow the directions or I improvise and it typically doesn’t work out right.

    Off to find you on Pinterest! (I’m Lyndsay0676)

  3. Those pom poms? Wow.

    • Aw, you just made my holiday!

  4. [...] makeshift pedestrian crossing over under-construction tram tracks. On crutches. Needless to say, my holiday crafting projects have mostly been disappointments thus far. Until last night, when I stumbled upon this tutorial via [...]

  5. Those pom poms are truly lovely! And I love to think of you pom-pomming while watching Christmas Vacation. Just think that in years to come, those pom poms might be on your Texas tree as a wonderful reminder of your year in Romania, roughing it without Michaels.

  6. P.S. — I like your “fails,” especially the wreath!

  7. Seriously — how sad is the world without Michaels? I mean they have some craft stores here in Germany, but they are as big as two parking spaces at Michael’s. And you seriously cannot even compare just the huge variety of stuff. So I’ve had to resort to ebay and random google searches to find things.

    Definitely going to be one of our first stops…thankfully we can only bring back/mail so many things lol.

    And at least you’re making time for the crafting. I have a list of things I’d love to do in my Pinterest, but it’s looking like they won’t get done til 2012 ;)

  8. When I lived in the US, I missed “The Bay” in Canada. Now that I’m back in Canada I miss JC Penny, and Macy’s and Filenes. Do they still have Filene’s?

  9. I find this red against the green stunning. Wahoo! I imagine Romania to have this kind of stark contrast.

  10. I think my felt flowers would look WAY worse than yours. I love the pom poms. I may have to craft some myself, but I think I’ll watch Love Actually while I do it. (This may in fact constitute my fantasy life.) Love seeing your results!!

  11. [...] things at this time of year check out this website full of Christmas crafts. My friend Stacia made this gorgeous garland and she lives in Romania where there is no back up help from [...]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers