The Lady of Letters

April 27, 2012 at 2:35 pm | Posted in Guest Posts, Haiku Friday | 11 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Today? It’s a Small
World chez Fluffy Bunnies. E.’s
Our grand finale.

And she’s the real deal.
She’s got three letters after
Her name: M. F. A.

She’s got three kids, too:
O., N., and L. (That E., she
Does love her letters.)

This week? O.’s seven.
Teeth and his love for trains … gone.
Get out your hankies.

+++

Haiku for Seven by E.
for O.

Tomorrow, seven!
A big kid; it’s official.
How did this happen?

First boy of my heart,
whose newborn wails echo when
springtime windows open,

I miss morning nests
on the couch, reading Harry
and nursing, nursing.

I miss your backhoes,
trains, trucks, tractors, balls, and cranes.
Teach your brother soon.

Now when no kids wake
at night, it’s worry keeps me
up in the wee hours.

Thinking of you out
in the world, braving your way
on paths I won’t know.

This, the year you left
dinos for Pokemon, glad
animals still rule.

Fan of your break dance,
sibling kindness, fearless joy
on two wheels of bike.

I love your magic,
pranks and all; Tae kwon do moves;
your Tiger Cub hat.

Not so your fart jokes,
back talking, button pushing,
all that growing up.

Nighttime snuggles still
are needed for hours, it seems.
When patience is thin.

Not room for two there,
You flop and never settle.
“One more minute please?”

“How does coffee taste?
What makes a hearing aid work?
Why is some skin brown?”

Then you ask the one
all kids find their way to, and
answer for yourself.

“L. is the baby,
and N. is your girl, but
I made you a mom.”

+++

Don’t forget …
Comment in haiku
And you could win something cool …

From Transylvania!

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Aww, I love this one! It’s so bittersweet, watching our babies grow up and more independent of their mommas. Sigh…

    Great haiku, E.!

  2. Loving his questions
    About how everything works–
    But not the fart jokes.

  3. I love this! My little boy turned 8 recently, and I can relate to this…all the way down to the fart jokes, Pokemon and taekwondo. It’s bittersweet…because now he tries to act all cool in front of his friends and like he doesn’t need to hug his mom. But he still does it behind closed doors. I love the last line of the poem!

  4. You’re bringing me back to earlier days… (I know we still have Pokemon cards floating around the place, but shhhhhh, don’t tell my boys!)

    And lovely that you’ve honored National Poetry Month – with only a few days to go.

  5. This is lovely. They do make us. The grow us up, one question answered (or ignored) at a time.

  6. You’ve described this age so well.

  7. Oh, the one who made me a mom will be seven soon. Last night, as we did our own struggle, I marveled at how long and lean she is.

  8. What a lovely ode
    To a boy who’s growing up.
    Breaks my heart a bit.

  9. Thank you, Stacia, for giving me the opportunity to honor my sweet boy and to jump back into poetry. Honored to be a part of this awesome series, and a guest here.

    • So glad to have you, E. And your lovely words about sweet O. are a perfect way to end National Poetry Month on this here old blog. I am honored you accepted.

  10. Happy brithday O! Fart jokes are a-plenty around here too. Are you telling me they don’t grow out of it by seven? That I have at least four more years??


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers