Moving On

May 31, 2012 at 11:08 am | Posted in Bun, Family, Photo Tuesday, Transylvania | 15 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

 

 

 

 

 

“Our battered suitcases were piled on the sidewalk again; we had longer ways to go. But no matter, the road is life.” — Jack Kerouac

Pisa. Florence. Vienna. Budapest. Bratislava. Paris. Prague. Krakow. Countless towns, B&Bs, and gas stations in between. Not to mention dozens of twisty, potholed roads — asphalt, gravel, dirt, mud, and covered in ice — from here to there and home again in Romania. We’ve traveled during our year abroad.

And we are weary.

Between the first broken bone and the second, the near-constant deciphering of bus and tram and metro routes, and the voluminous laundry piles, we are so very weary. But, still, we ask ourselves: Did we do enough? Did we see enough? Did we make the most of it — of all of it, from feeding Cheerios to pigeons of various nationalities to dropping strange, shiny coins in subway musicians’ hats to sampling donuts and kebabs and wooden toys and raspberries from street vendors?

And if the answer is a half-hearted maybe? A shoulder shrug? A flat-out no? It’s too late. Our battered suitcases are nearly packed for the next road, the last road, the one that leads home.

And that’s enough. It’s got to be enough.

Has travel ever made you weary? When have you looked to the end of an experience and wondered if you’d made the most of it? And what was your answer?

+++

 

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

+++

See more movement at Beth’s.

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. More than enough. All roads lead home now!

  2. I am so happy that you experienced this adventure. Reading this blog I feel like I had the opportunity to see into the future and glimpse what might be possible. You have a gorgeous way of telling stories in words and pictures- best of luck to you!

  3. Oh, yes. My husband and I were on our honeymoon when 9/11 happened. I was so tired in the middle of the trip, and so homesick. But we managed to find the spaces for rest and renewal where we needed them, and we got home safely, so all was well.

    You have had a fascinating trip abroad, and given your children memories to last. Some day when they travel with their own families, they will have so many stories!

  4. We’ll be thrilled to welcome you back.

    And goodness, that’s a lot you’ve done in a year.

  5. OMG, I just read the broken arm post…I’m so sorry that happened! I’m so glad everything’s ok now.

    I love your photos…as always. And we usually go camping for 2 weeks every summer and by the time we get home, I’m done.

  6. Travel safely my dear. And what a year!

  7. This year of living abroad has surely been a memorable one, for the good and the bad. But you made it, you shared it with us, and I’m sure you will never regret it! Good luck on your journey home!

  8. Gorgeous photos as always. :-)

    ~Imelda

  9. What an amazing year you’ve had~the good and the bad! I’m sure coming home will be wonderful and just the beginning of another adventure!

  10. what a year…. welcome home.

  11. Wow, you’re coming home! Having read your blog posts and FB updates over the past year, from my view you have absolutely lived an incredibly full year. I think you do that especially when you know your time is limited. I’m sorry that you’ve had some really difficult times but hope that all in all things were amazing. I totally know that weary feeling. When I look back on my decision to move to Japan (way back when), I often wonder what kind of person I was back then. I doubt if I have the mental, emotional and physical energy to live in another country again. But of course, when I look back, I also see someone I’m proud of (and that feeling doesn’t come often). What courage it takes to embark on an adventure like that! And you did it with 3 young children in tow. I’m happy for you that you’re coming home :-)

    • It’s only been a year, and I’m already wondering what kind of person I was “back then.” If I had known all that would happen, would I still have agreed to come? Did I know just how strong we would have to be … and how strong we’ve proven to be? Did I really understand that there would be such amazing experiences and such equally terrifying ones? And I’m also asking myself a whole new set of questions about moving home. How have we changed? What will it be like? And will we fit into the life we left behind??

  12. I teared up a little as I read. Maybe it was that top photo that got me. Maybe I can just feel your emotion. The sense as you ask above, “Will I fit into the life I left behind?” We are always new.

    I like to think about how my skin sheds and regenerates all the time. Somehow that is a comfort to me. To think my body knows how to do this change thing without me interfering.

    So. I go along. Wearing new skin.

  13. I knew this day would come. Your photos and writing in this post are exquisite.

  14. Has it really been a year?? Wow! And what a year eh?

    Can’t wait to have you back here to read about settling back in! I’m so sad and excited for you all at once!

    p.s. gorgeous pictures!


Leave a Reply

Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 260 other followers