The Long Goodbye

June 15, 2012 at 3:01 pm | Posted in Haiku Friday, Transylvania | 20 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: The Long Goodbye

 

La revedere,
Cluj-Napoca. What a year.
And now it’s over.

Our bags are at the
Limit, but our memories
Are weightless, endless.

We watched the cherry
Tree next door bloom, wither, then
Bud and fruit again.

Greece broke the Euro.
The crooked mayor went to jail.
The snow fell. (And fell.)

We learned about praf
De copt and how to get through
Double roundabouts.

We learned your heart and
Your history and how to
Toast to good, good friends.

We’ve said goodbye, not
Knowing, just hoping, we’ll be
Back. We will. We will.

The adventure is over. We’re headed home. Home. How can I be so sad?

20 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So sad for you that the adventure is over, but I applaud you for taking the year-long journey. What memories your whole family will share from this!

  2. I am also sad that you are leaving Stacia. I have visited Ro multiple times, and being married to a Romanian woman enables me to experience the things you have over the past year. I can only encourage you to bring the things you loved about Ro, home to the US and share them with others!

  3. The reentry is a bear. So much loss! So much change. So much normalcy, that no longer feels normal.

  4. What fascinates me is thinking, “That was a YEAR?” But it seems just yesterday she was trying to decide what to take and what to leave. I can hear the change in you, in your disposition.

    Time is this bendable thing, at once fleeting and expansive. You’ve made the most of moments that for many have simply slipped by. Thank you both for sharing your adventures so vulnerably and for giving us courage to leap into adventures of our own.

  5. So sad to leave a place that you love even if you are heading home. Thank you for sharing your adventures with us. Best wishes and a safe trip.

  6. what a year. I’m sure you’ll be excited to be “home” soon. I can understand though that sad feeling. I moved back to Canada in 2003 after 5yrs in the USA. I still sometimes miss mostly the people that were my friends and neighbours.

  7. [...] June 16: Away we go. La revedere, Cluj-Napoca. We’ll see you again. We will. [...]

  8. This made me cry for so many reasons. I’m sad for you, but I’m ready for my friends to be home. So is Polly. Enjoy your time in Spain, but be careful! :-)

  9. Goodbyes are so hard, especially when you’ve made such good friends and memories (some good, some notsogood, I’m sure). I’m so curious to read about your perspective of home once you return…

  10. Sounds so bittersweet. I hope that the smiles and hugs of your family and friends back stateside will help ease the transition!

  11. So happy that you were able to go on this adventure and that our paths have crossed. You have given me much to look forward to in the coming months.

  12. A year sounds so long, but really, it’s a flash, isn’t it? I’m sure it’s not just the titanium, but you sound stronger, surer. May the adventures of the year ahead be glorious too – with fewer broken bones – even if they all launch from home.

  13. I’m sure you’re sad. What a year, in spite of all the broken bones. Welcome home, though.

  14. I can’t imagine how bittersweet this is for you all. What an adventure!!!

  15. What a year! What an experience! I can’t wait to read how you feel when you got back.

  16. I can’t believe it has been a year. I remember packaging up some lentils for you to send to Romania and now we are talking about you coming home. Loved hearing about these experiences and can’t wait to read about your adventures at home.

  17. An amazing year. And now, welcome home. Let the new journeys begin! xo

  18. [...] on earth I would put nine pairs of mittens and a green cheese grater, among other artifacts from our Romanian life. But before I could decide — before I could even formulate wise-sounding reflections on the [...]

  19. [...] mind, well, I’m not sure where it’s been. I still feel lost, somewhere between here and there, as if my thoughts are still on the plane waiting to clear customs. For the first time since I [...]

  20. […] Europe last summer, an orange crayon melted in our rental car. We may or may not have gotten a parking ticket in […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers