Shaping Up

October 8, 2012 at 2:00 pm | Posted in Bun, Giggles, Lollipop, Photo Tuesday | 14 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

“I found I could say things with color and shapes that I couldn’t say any other way — things I had no words for.” — Georgia O’Keeffe

Did I tell you our camera got stolen? In Madrid. At the airport. In literally the last minutes of our year in Europe.

We realized it on the plane. 32,000 feet over the Atlantic. When there was nothing to do but wait for the complimentary snack basket and choke down a tiny bottle of free Cabernet.

I’ve missed it. I didn’t realize how much. (The camera, not the Cabernet.)

There’s just something about clicking to manual, cranking up the ISO, and opening the aperture. Everyday colors and shapes and patterns suddenly appear, amplified, in ways my eyes just don’t notice without a viewfinder. It’s mind-altering, literally, how looking through a camera helps me see the beauty in my own life.

Oh, yes, I’ve missed it.

What do you see when you look through your camera? What helps you notice the blessings in your life? And do you go for the free Cabernet or the free Zinfindel on international flights?

+++

See more shapes at Beth’s.

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve missed your photos! Sorry about your camera, but glad you’re shooting again. Love your view of the everyday.

  2. :( That sucks. Even worse than losing the camera is losing the film that is inside of it…

  3. :( Sorry. I have missed your photos …..glad you are capturing memories again.

  4. Good to hear from you again, Stacia! And I’m so sorry about your camera…I’m glad you’ve got one now. Beautiful pictures as always. I am letting too many days go by without capturing them visually, something that must somehow happen once your kids start to get older. So your post is an important reminder for me to start clicking and capturing.

  5. Oh no! So sorry to hear about your camera. I think I would cry. When we were in our car accident a couple years ago, it was the one thing I asked my husband to grab out of our totaled car lol. But glad that you’re shooting again — the shots are just wonderful!

  6. That’s horrible about your camera. I know I would be devastated.

    Love your captures.

  7. Lovely to see your photographs, Stacia! (Dreadful to have something stolen like that.)

  8. That sucks!! (the camera thievery, not your post).
    Good to ‘hear’ your voice again!

  9. I’m so sorry to hear about your camera. That would be horrible! I do love the way looking through the camera helps avoid distractions. I love the O’Keeffe quote you used.

  10. Nice shapes!

  11. I did not know that! I, also, have missed your pictures but didn’t connect that maybe they were lacking because your camera was gone.

    As for the wine? Cabernet. Definitely.

  12. Love your photography Stacia! Sorry about your camera. A similar instance happened to us many years ago. We are still mourning the loss of that camera.

  13. Apparently, I’ve missed your camera too – such gorgeous shots! And I’m so envious that you learned to master the camera in manual mode. I have been meaning to for the longest time. I don’t know what’s holding me back.

  14. OMG…these are amazing!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers