Our Summer Crush

June 7, 2013 at 8:43 am | Posted in Bun, Giggles, Lollipop | 16 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Three kids. One mom. One house. One week. Only 79 days of summer vacation to go. But who’s counting? (Me, me, me!)

Here’s a recap of our first week of vacation:

Trips to Target: 1
Icees: 3
Scoops of ice cream: 13
Trips to splash park: 1
Goose eggs acquired at splash park: 1
Number of times swimsuits laundered: 5
Water-bottle refills: Oh, who can remember?
Containers of yogurt consumed: 19
Items lost: 1 dress, 1 hat, 1 stuffed bunny, 1 temporary tattoo
Items found: 1 jacket, 1 flag pin, 7 bottle caps
Books checked out from library: 15
Episodes of Curious George watched: I plead the 5th.
Lunches at Daddy’s office: 1
Tantrums while lunching at Daddy’s office: 4
Number of homemade muffins delivered to the fire station down the street: 23
Firehouse tours: 1
Ice-cream factory tours: 1
M&Ms smashed into ice-cream-factory floor: 7
Scraped knees: 5
Band-aids applied: 3
Summer reading logs in progress: 4
Tubes of sunscreen used: 1 1/2
Roly polies collected: 9

What’s your summer been like so far? Are the heat and the boredom crushing you, too? And how many roly polies are living in a jar on your coffee table?

+++

C is for summer crush. See more Cs at Jenny’s.

Jenny Matlock

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ha ha, that’s funny you’re already counting! ;-) Our last day of school is today. I woke up with some mixed feelings (another year gone kind of thing). It’s going to be a crazy summer for us – traveling to see both sets of grandparents during the first half and then my mom and stepson coming to stay with us for the second half. Routines are out the window and I almost want tedium. But we’re learning from past experience (read: mistakes) and hope to keep things as stress-free as possible. I honestly believe you have done more in this first week of vacation than I do all summer in terms of quality, fun time. Hope you can get a break for yourself too!

  2. My kids are no longer in school. But, I sure did love those days. Summer vacation and start of new school year have a taste, a feel, a smell all their own. I miss those days Enjoy every one of them and all the wonderful memories!

  3. hahaha

    Yep, sounds like summer! I’m afraid mine is a little quieter, but I think that will change as I am babysitting my grandkids next week…

    =)

  4. I like the ice cream part the best..

  5. :) you made me smile and I am hungry for some M&M ice cream :)

  6. I am so glad to have all of the neighborhood kids home for my kids to play with! Summer rocks. Wish it were a little WARMER, though, so we could go to the pool and the sprinkler. Soon, soon. I love summer. Way better than being overscheduled in the school year, imho.

    • Warmer?? Jealous. We are already melting in the heat over here. (Literally. There is red crayon wax on our grass.)

      On Sat, Jun 8, 2013 at 1:06 PM, Fluffy Bunnies

  7. You didn’t lose Sea Shelly, right?!?

    • Praise Jesus, no!! Just a second-tier bunny. Unfortunate, but not disastrous.

  8. It doesn’t even feel like summer here in Ohio…it’s been cold and cloudy and today it’s rainy!!! That’s a lot of numbers so far! :)

  9. You’ve certainly been quite busy! I have to say, my whole summer has been kids so far. :-)

  10. It has turned into a very hot week here. Two of my kiddos are staying here this week. Lots of swimming and lots of ice cream. Having to come up with some fun inside things during the really hot part of the day…love summer!

  11. Summer is not even out for another two and a half weeks here!

  12. My daughter’s summer break began on May 15th. Swimming and ice cream are mandatory staples in the desert!

  13. I love your clever countdown…

    The heat is certainly crushing me this summer, thank God for air conditioning!

    Thanks for linking to the letter “C”!

    A+

  14. […] Now, just over a year later, we’re repatriated. Completely. […]


Leave a Reply

Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 260 other followers