Pizza Party

January 11, 2010 at 11:03 pm | Posted in Lollipop | Leave a comment

My kids ate fruits and veggies like champs when they were babies. Then they became toddlers. Anything green (save a sour apple DumDum) became verboten; anything with tomatoes, not even worth trying; anything disguised with cheese, still questionable. Giggles even went through a no-carbs phase. Thankfully, we all made it through that one.

In an attempt to get them to eat more stuff, I’ve started trying to include them in preparing dinner. Whether it’s dumping in the measuring cups, operating the whisk, or sprinkling on the sprinkles (our code for “spice”), Lollipop loves to help out. Giggles, well, his contribution (he’s a bit young yet) generally includes emptying the plastic dishes from the cabinet and throwing some lids around, Frisbee-style. But I’ll take it.

Have a Slice and a Smile
Last night, we made English muffin pizzas, a favorite of mine when I was little. Haven’t had it in years. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever made it for myself. I even had to call my mom for precise baking instructions. Lollipop helped me put the English muffins on the tray. Sampled a muffin. Helped spoon the sauce onto each piece. Licked the red off her fingers. Helped spread/dump the cheese on top. Scooped the cheesy spill piles straight into her mouth. Sprinkled the basil and red pepper on Mommy and Daddy’s pieces. Opted not to taste those.

When the edges were toasty and the cheese bubbly, I took them out of the oven and we prepared to feast. Lollipop declined. She did try a few bites and then asked for a bowl full of leftover shredded cheese. Which she ate. And then had seconds of. I could only laugh and shake my head. Hey, at least she got her protein for the evening. And we’ll try again tonight.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.