Generations

April 1, 2010 at 3:03 pm | Posted in Family, Lollipop | 23 Comments

Yesterday, when the bottom fell out, I was standing at the kitchen sink. About to take my medicine. Coughing. And it popped. Something popped. In my side.

All I could do was curl my fingers around the silver sink edge (while trying not to thing about the germs lurking there) and let the pain roar through my body. I think I screamed. I’m pretty sure I cursed. I know I sobbed. I was a blubbering, sniveling, shaking mess.

Mother Knows Best
First thing I did? Called my mom. Who lives 1,000 miles away. Because that makes sense.

Clearly, I wasn’t thinking clearly.

But a little distance wasn’t going to stand in her way. She told me to breathe. I tried. She asked if I needed to call 911. I said no. She said to get to the doctor and call her back. In her I’m-the-mom-that’s-why voice.

And I did. Because Mom said so.

Tot & Snot
Still, I was barely holding it together. Only able to whisper on the phone. Letting sobs slip out. Practically snorkeling in snot.

Through all of this, Lollipop sat quietly, calmly, in her little camping chair. Eating her breakfast bar. Watching Princess Presto and the rest of the gang hunt down super letters.

At one point, she looked over and asked, “Mommy, why are you crying?”

And I gasped out something about {sob} having a big boo-boo {sob} and needing to go {sob} to the doctor. Still snorkeling in snot.

The Voice of Reason
And she said, “Do you have your tissues, Mommy?” Fresh out of my beloved lotion-y Puffs, I {sob} waved a roll of toilet paper {sob} in her direction.

She nodded. Then, in her most cheerful lilt of a voice, she said, “OK, Mommy. You let me know if you need anything else!”

I would have laughed if it hadn’t hurt so much. I would have scooped her up and tenderly brushed her hair out of her face, which would have made her squeal because she hates it when I do that. Instead, I breathed. Made the calls. Pulled it together.

All I can say is, thank goodness a calm gene actually exists in my family. Thank goodness the women who bookend me in the generational line-up have it: my wonderful mom, my sweet Lollipop. Because, clearly, it skipped me. And I need {sob} all the help I can get.

23 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh, my dear Stacia. I will be praying and sending good healing vibes your way! I’m so sorry that you are going through this! Hang in there and heal quickly!!!

  2. Thank goodness for bookends! Hope you are feeling better today.

  3. Was the doctor able to help at all?
    I wish I was closer. I would come over and sweep your floor and do your laundry and make you dinner and Munchie could play with Lollipop and you could just sit in whatever position makes you comfortable.

    • Oh, wouldn’t that be wonderful?! Thank you, Lyndsay. =>

  4. Thank goodness for the calm that surrounds you! Hugs to you… I’m another who wishes I could come help – at least bring you guys dinner! Thinking all sorts of healthy positive thoughts for you 🙂

  5. I’m so sorry, Stacia. I hope you feel better soon and are able to relax and be calm, like your sweet daughter.

  6. Sorry to join you in hysteria, but holy crap – are you ok?!

    • It’s funny, I wrote this post to be a lighthearted-ish follow-up to yesterday’s “downer” post. Guess it’s not as humorous as I thought! I am doing a little better, slowly but surely. We have friends who are pitching in and my dad is in town helping out, so we’ll make it. Thanks, Meg!

  7. Oh my goodness–hope you are okay!

  8. Oh no, Stacia – hang in there.

    This too shall pass.

  9. So silly me, but are you the popping wasn’t your water breaking? Because wouldn’t that just be funny? Ha! ha… yeah.

    I hope everything’s OK.

    • Ha! Well, I am so very ready to be un-pregnant, but that’s one thing I’m sure it wasn’t! =>

  10. You know you are going to have to do a follow-up post, right? Because we are all WORRIED AS HECK!! I know you say you are okay, but what the scary!

    Oh my goodness. I am so sorry about this horrible sickness that has consumed your body!

  11. When I cross a certain line with being sick or in pain, I cry. I remember waking up about six months ago with a sinus headache and the idea of taking care of two children while feeling this way? well… I just bawled. My husband came to the rescue by taking my oldest to preschool & my youngest to work! But that was for one day and I was STILL a mess. Yours sounds like it going on for awhile 😦 I hope that the pop wasn’t something important and that the snot stops soon.

  12. Beautiful! I’m sorry you feel so terrible, but I’m glad you have sucha wonderful mom and daughter to help you through it.

    I’m sending lots of positive thoughts your way.

  13. Ohmygoodness. What happened? What popped?
    3rd trimester with two little ones is pretty heroic stuff.
    Don’t worry about being a downer, I prefer that in spades to someone who admits having a hard day.
    Thinking of you,
    Rachel

    • Thanks, Rachel. Without going into the gory details, the “pop” was my rib … Fun times!

  14. Thinking of you! You really are having a rough time. You should know though, that you saw any silver lining in your day amazes me.

  15. Oh gosh, I thought for sure you meant it was your water breaking! Thank goodness for those bookends of calm in your life. I hope everything is okay!!

    • Yes, perhaps “popped” wasn’t the best choice of words, seeing as how that’s exactly what happens when your water breaks!

  16. Honey! I had no idea things were THIS bad! I’m so sorry. Hope everything is ok, soon…

  17. I hope you’re doing better, today! Thinking of you.

  18. I’m glad to hear that you are feeling a bit better. We’ve been on vacation so I haven’t been following this past week but wow. Hang in there!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.