Haiku Friday

April 16, 2010 at 6:27 pm | Posted in Family, Haiku Friday | 21 Comments

Haiku Friday: Greatest American Hero

Guess who’s at our house?
A superhero. His name?
Pawpaw. Needs no cape.

I broke. He rushed in.
His plan to hike the AT?
It can wait, he says.

Instead? He chauffeurs.
He makes me sit down and rest.
He brings home ice cream.

Dinner? On the stove.
Poopy diapers? No problem.
Tantrums? Nipped. In bud.

Wait, wait, there’s tons more.
He mows. Plants beans, tomatoes.
Tends to kiddie pool.

My kids? In good hands.
My body? Healing. At last.
My dad? My hero.

+++

Haiku Friday

21 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Aren’t they the best? Mine call mine “Poppy”.

  2. There is nothing better than a grandparent in hero form 🙂

  3. Oh, hooray. I’m glad you have a hero in town to help!

  4. This is so sweet! I’m glad your dad is there to help you out!!

  5. Wow!! He cooks and cleans? What an awesome dad!!

    P.S. I am so happy that you are in excellent hands.

  6. I’m so glad that he could be there for you!

  7. You are so, so blessed! Enjoy your weekend with Pawpaw 🙂

  8. How sweet! What a joy, relief, and blessing!!! Giggles looks so big with his “walking stick”. Cracking me up….Lollipop hiking in a tutu!

    Glad you are on the mend. Love your haikus!

    • When you can’t hike in a princess dress, go with a tutu. That’s her motto, at least. =>

  9. Now that’s the kind of hero I can really look up to!

    What a wonderful dad you’ve got. I’m so happy that he’s there to give you a hand – or two.

  10. Sure is! What a delightful spirit picking up Lollipop with her pink sparkly bag. He exudes confidence!

  11. That’s got to be the definition of a hero. SO GLAD you are getting rest!

  12. I LOVE the picture. And Dads/Grandpas like that really are heroes.

  13. I love that your Dad is your hero as well as your kids’. That’s just what a Dad/PawPaw should be.

  14. So glad you have a paw paw hero in your bag of tricks. It’s just a win, win win, isn’t it?

  15. My heroes (parents) just left yesterday. Boy is it heaven having them around!

  16. Oh, how divine! It must be blessed to have your own flesh and blood take care of your little ones. I will never know this completely just savor it through your wonderful words.

  17. This post made my day! I love the picture as well!

  18. Oh so lovely! I love the picture too – looks like you too have been getting back to nature. My father is coming to stay in June and I can’t wait until he does, it has been a long time since he was last here and like your Dad he is just such a great help and will do just about anything and everything in a crisis. Not to mention the fact that my daughter just loves having him around.

    Enjoy the time with your Dad – what a lovely post and tribute to him. I hope he has seen and read this because Stacia it will make him very proud. Here’s to wonderful Dads and Granddads!

  19. What a wonderful grandpa! Those are the things that bond hearts together in a family. It’s not just the things we say to each other, it’s the small acts of kindness that we show to each other!

  20. Yay! What a great picture:)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.