Joining the Circus

May 25, 2010 at 3:09 am | Posted in Giggles, Guest Posts, Lollipop | 20 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

It’s 91 degrees here today. And that’s why we are inside. Luxuriating in the air conditioning. Avoiding all-things-outdoors.

But I can’t entirely blame the temperature … and the humidity … and the bugs … I just don’t like going outside.

So I’m joining the circus.

Seven Clown Circus, that is, the online big top of my blog-friend Angie. I’m guest-posting there today about my aversion to the great outdoors. And why I go out and sweat anyway, for the sake of Lollipop and Giggles and the flowers I try to teach them not to pick.

Come by and visit, will you? And enjoy the virtual air conditioning!

20 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I know what you mean. I liked taking the kids for walks in the evening but many days I preferred staying in the house, especially if the alternative was the park. Now it’s the dog begging me to come outside with her…

  2. Oh my! This is so funny – I did not know you disliked the great outdoors because I know you make an effort to share it with your children. My next post tomorrow is a follow-up to my first about getting back to nature and all about how I love the great outdoors, so I was laughing as soon as I read this. My husband by the way is like you, especially about bugs, he starts swatting imaginary flies as soon as he steps out the door πŸ™‚

  3. 91 degrees? I can’t think of a better way to announce your guest post. Bravo. ANd thank you.

  4. Told my husband just yesterday: Outdoor play is your game, not mine. No go! πŸ™‚ I’ll head over to check out your post.

  5. I usually enjoy outside time with my children (it is seldom 91 degrees here in MAY though), but I am so beat by the time we all get home lately, it’s been tough to get out there with them. I’m hoping the second trimester will give me a much-needed boost in energy! Plus, it’s got to be tough going out with an infant! That’s way too hot.

  6. Love the photo and the green boots. TOO cute.

    Im all for a virtual circus. I hate the humidity!

  7. So, so hot yesterday! I hate to sweat and hate the feeling of being obligated to get my kids outside to “enjoy the weather.” Of course, I also hate staying inside all day too. Can’t win!

    Off to check out the guest post now.

  8. You’re an inspiration, Stacia! How do you have the energy to do a guest post while at home with a newborn, big brother, and big sister? (It’s only in the 80s here, but I’m already concocting excuses to stay inside after my boys wake up from their naps. Less inspirational mom over here.)

  9. For me, it’s swimming. I detest swimming. But, what’s a mom to do?

  10. I don’t mind the outside so much – the bugs, I could definitely do without however. My ideal outside experience is sitting in the shade with a book and a glass of wine!

  11. Hey, you’re back! And definitely back. Great to see you. Glad things are going well enough to blog. Stay inside in the AC. You owe it to yourself!

  12. What do you mean you don’t like the outdoors? I’m your exact opposite. If I could, I’d live under a tree and that’s it. I’ll be sure to check out your friend’s blog. I love your writing.

  13. Aw, I love the idea of running away and joining the circus! I’ll follow you.

  14. I would love to give you an alternate shortcoming, but I have to tell you…I FAIL MISERABLY AT OUTSIDE 101!!! The weather has to be PERFECT for me to even want to think about it! I don’t know why! The grocery bags…yup…same story…the wasp stinging you? Yup! There was a nest in my mailbox when I was a kid…8 stingers on one hand…and that was only 2 minutes out there to get the mail! So, my fellow blogger, I am right there with you…even down to trimming Barbie’s hair. I promise to try and come up with an original mommy fail and be sure and get back to you with that. Enjoyed perusing your blog…as Arnold would say…’I’ll be back’!

  15. Can you send some heat my way? It has been unusually cool and rainy here in CA. I am sick of it!

  16. Checked out your blog today. Your writing is beautiful and amazing. I love it! Enjoying the small moments is such a crucial thing. I will be coming back to enjoy your posts again.

  17. I am indoor gal. Especially since moving to Phoenix. Last summer it was 117 degrees one week. Embracing the indoors this summer too. Headed over to read your post.

  18. Great pic! But I can’t stay…I’m off to read your guest post! (Cute “send off” post, btw:)

  19. I love the photo that accompanies this post. Gorg!

  20. On my way over.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.