Haiku Friday

June 11, 2010 at 6:24 am | Posted in Family, Haiku Friday | 19 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Position Available

Wanted: Aunt/au pair.
Ours flew back home on Wednesday.
Need replacement fast.

Must set alarm clock
And wake at oh-dark-thirty
To play with loud trucks.

Must chauffeur to school.
And bring tired mommy Starbucks.
With extra whip please.

Must make sandwiches
That children won’t eat unless
Bribed with chocolate.

Must teach kids new words.
Like Desitin? It’s now called
Butt paste. (Go on, laugh.)

Must take kids outside
Even though allergic to
Pesky mosquitoes.

Must take a plane trip
With hungry, napless children.
And share green Skittles.

Must keep on smiling
Through meltdowns, tantrums, poo-poos,
And leaky diapers.

You’re interested?
Great! Leave comment to apply.
Tough shoes to fill though.

Whose visits do your children love? Whose visits do you love? Anyone else lucky enough to have family members who change poopy diapers??

+++

Haiku Friday

19 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Still laughing at butt paste. And I love me some double chin action. Babies are the best – well, especially when you have much needed precious help.

  2. Ooh! Ooh! Pick me! I’m interested!!
    I had such a wonderful time with you guys and miss you oh so very much! Thanks for such a wonderful post πŸ™‚

  3. My daughter loves the visits her grandparents make, which given they are 5,000 miles away do not happen too often. However my father is coming next Tuesday so we are both really looking forward to that.

    Glad you had some helping hands there for a while – hopefully she will be back again soon!

  4. i would!

  5. I’m amazed by your awesome haiku skills! I’m not sure I could do the same.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your moral support. I appreciate it. A lot!

  6. Good help? Hard to find.
    Who can love the kids like mom?
    Best of luck to you.

    • Great comment-haiku, Belinda! =>

  7. Do you write? I think your writing is BEYOND amazing and I mean it. Ever thought about getting something published? You’re talented. πŸ™‚

  8. My mother-in-law is the only other person, than my husband and I, to have the privilege to have changed one of our daughter’s poopie diapers. A dubious honor, to be sure, but much appreciated.

  9. It’s kind of odd, but my 6 year old loves it when our work clients visit πŸ˜‰ They’re usually in their 20s-30s and he sees them as big brothers and sisters.

    I’m always amazed at how incredibly eloquent you are with 2 young children and a newborn!! How wonderful to keep disciplined with your writing throughout motherhood.

  10. Oh man, do we need that shirt! Luckily, the kids’ auntie is only about three minutes down the road. She is one of our favorite people to hang out with and my best friend.

    Other special visitors that are extra special are my parents – Nana and Papa – and my brother, who lives in CA. He is extremely popular with Wonderboy especially as he has a Lego collection that rivals Toys-R-Us and always brings him something!

  11. The girls and I love when my parents visit. I am also quite lucky to have any number of people who have willingly changed poopy diapers. My FIL may be an exception, and I can only think of one time my father handled the task β€” it was a bit of an emergency, and I was breastfeeding infant Kate at the time. but plenty of mom, MIL, and aunt-action β€” even some uncles! Hey, they have kids, too! We’re all losing a little patience with Kate, though. No one wants to change those diapers!

  12. Aww, I’ll apply! My son loves his grandma on Daddy’s side. She didn’t change one.single.diaper but since then she’s been terrific.

  13. I love these unusual subjects for haikus, Stacia! Circumstances lead to interesting poetry!

  14. When family comes around here, I soak it up. They change the diapers, handle the feedings (except Andrew because they lack certain, um, glands), and take charge of the cleaning. It is bliss.

  15. Oh when my sister comes? I’m in heaven. She is like the baby/toddler/preschooler-whisperer. She’ll be here in a week. YAYAYAYAYAYAYAAY!!

  16. Mine has a lot of love for his aunts and uncles, who have a lot of love, if not the endless energy for play that Jack wants. He’s at an age where older kid-friends and cousins are best, because they DO have that endless energy.

  17. I love the way you are able to record those precious moments of your children’s lives into eloquent words. Wish I’d had the foresight to do it…my sons hands are way bigger than mine, even larger than their dads. And yet I wonder where all the time went.

  18. I’ve only recently found my way to your blog and the more I read, the more I want kids now, now NOW! But there’s jobs to find and a bit of growing up to do before that. Also, I haven’t completely convinced my girlfriend that she’s ready for kids πŸ˜‰ Matter of time.
    Would come over to be your au-pair imedeatly, play choo-choo trains and teach them german or spanish if they want. But then maybe I’d miss the perfect moment to convince my girlfriend to have our own kids….What a pitty!
    I hope you find someone nice. And I hope you keep on writing.
    Love
    Philipp


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.