Haiku Friday

June 18, 2010 at 12:33 pm | Posted in Haiku Friday | 22 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Stomp & Circumstance

My friend Jane asked this:
What sage advice would you give
To new graduates?

Preschool or high school,
I’d say the same thing to them …
In haiku, of course:

Seek out the puddles.
Ignore the mess. Stomp, splash, stomp!
Share your umbrella.

Try to grow something.
Nurture a tiny seedling.
Plant or otherwise.

Travel. See the world:
Cities, paintings, churches, shores.
If only in books.

Make your mark. Color.
Ignore the lines. Go with bright,
Like cerulean.

Play the mellophone.
Or something. Just make music.
Your heart will sing, too.

Cry. Laugh. Growl. Roar. Yawp.
Feel it, whatever it is.
Hand out only smiles.

Give more than you take:
Toys, stickers, cookies, time, love.
Especially love.

What would you say in your speech? What part of the world do you want to see? What’s your favorite crayon color?

+++

Haiku Friday

22 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I. Am. Speechless.

    This is awesome. I love it. I’m bookmarking it to savor over and over. You’ve outdone yourself. (And thank you so much for playing along!)

  2. This is awesome. I love the line, Seek out the Puddles.

  3. Great advice, especially the last “verse”. =)

  4. Great advice and a beautiful poem!

  5. I’m calling you the next time I need a speech writer! Love these, Stacia. Especially the notion of traveling – even if only in books.

    Midnight Blue is my favorite crayon.

  6. Beautifully said. You are a marvel, Stacia!

  7. I think with these wonderful words you capture the essence of what I would say to a graduate which would be don’t be afraid of adventure, of not sticking to the norm, because you have so many years of being responsible ahead of you, now is the time to take chances, step off the beaten path, explore the world and you.

  8. Share your umbrella and Yawp! are my favorite pieces of advice in this lovely haiku. Well done!

    favorite crayon color: steel blue

  9. Well done indeed! I love all of your advice!

  10. This really is inspiring – what you’ve said here as well as how you wrote it. Clever and charming and wise.
    Cerulean was always my favorite. For me it outdoes azure as the perfect blue adjective in every context.

  11. Once again… you make your mother speechless and oh so very proud!!
    BIG HUG!!!

  12. The mellophone? That sounds like my kind of instrument.
    You are a beautiful writer.

    But…how’s that BABY?

    • I always wanted to play the mellophone. By the time I knew it existed, I had already chosen the clarinet. But one day … one day I’ll pick up a mellophone.

      Baby’s good. Toughening up quick thanks to some “love” from his siblings. Posts to come soon … after a quick nap!

  13. Thats a really nice piece of advice.

  14. “Give more than you take:
    Toys, stickers, cookies, time, love.
    Especially love.”

    Has my heart.

  15. I love these pieces of advice. LOVE them.

    I would also add–laugh. A lot. Sometimes it is the best medicine.

    I don’t have a favorite crayon color because I can’t choose!

  16. This is perfect, beautiful. My favorite haiku of yours yet!

  17. […] Stacia at Fluffy Bunnies – So clever. She wrote it in haiku and called it “Stomp and Circumstance!” […]

  18. Running is an awesome stress releaser. I used to run, when I was younger. I miss running…and being younger!

  19. If I create time
    and space and a place to run
    would you teach haiku?

    cerulean, I’d forgotten about cerulean because it’s been awhile since I was reading colors instead of just looking.

    I love that one too.

    And periwinkle.

    • Lovely haiku, Rebecca. I’d sure like to run through those grass fields you blogged about today! =>

  20. VERY immpressive. Indigo is my favourite, but I like to say cerulean.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.