Haiku Friday

July 3, 2010 at 10:16 pm | Posted in Giggles, Haiku Friday, Lollipop | 12 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Appliance Art

Refrigerator:
Cold art gallery. With doors.
And magnets galore.

Markers, crayons, paint:
Anything put on paper
Is proudly displayed.

Currently featured?
“Green Sheep” (medium: crayon).
And beans stuck with glue.

Caterpillars, too.
Made from puffy purple balls
With three googly eyes.

Lots of brown flowers.
It’s Giggles’s go-to color.
Lollipop likes green.

Side by side with art?
The pizza place number. For
Starving kid artists.

What’s hanging proudly on your fridge? Or do you have your kiddos’ artwork displayed elsewhere? How do you decide what to keep and what to recycle?

+++

Haiku Friday

This post is also belatedly part of Maxabella’s Fridge Chronicles series.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. We do proudly display various items. One that has lasted since the winter is something the Pixie made at school – a snowman body with her face as the head. It cracks me up every time I look at it. We also have a couple of pictures we printed on magnetic paper – that stuff is so cool. Wishing you all a wonderful Fourth!

  2. I think my refrigerator looks a lot like yours! Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Our refrigerator is unadorned but we do have an entire wall given over to my three year old daughter’s art work as she is quite prolific šŸ™‚

  4. Your fridge is certainly more artistic than mine. Maxabella will be thrilled to see your chronicles!

  5. You darling darling thing with your lovely lovely fridge.

  6. Ha! All my kids artwork goes on the fridge! It doesn’t even matter if I really drew it for them. : )

    Happy 4th!

  7. Our art gallery covers every wall in the entire playroom, so the fridge is usually empty. šŸ™‚

  8. Oh how I wish the magnets worked on our fridge! OK, Little Miss isn’t exactly Picasso yet but someday she’ll have her masterpieces and then what will I do? Clear a wall for her? Umm…I don’t think so. I need to get a new fridge.

  9. Fridge, covered. Wall in den, getting full. I started culling the art every few months, picking the best examples of certain styles (look, it’s a line! and here is a circle! Look at the purple paint swoosh!!!) and now I store them in an artist’s portfolio. I’m trying to stick to one, but running out of space.
    Hooray for pizza, but not artistically strewn pizza.

  10. We have handmade birthday cards from my birthday last month, as well as pictures from Chuck E. Cheese. And magnets, of course. That the kids like to take down and run off with.

  11. We can only display art on the side of our fridge as the front doesn’t take magnets, but we have big colorful clips for the very purpose.

    This past weekend, Bub went to town drawing on post-its and pretty much papered my mother-in-law’s door with them. His aunt told him it was his art gallery, and he really warmed to the idea and kept showing it off!

    As for what papers to save and keep, I don’t know. I just keep throwing all the school stuff in a bin and figure later I’ll have the time/clarity to sort and sift. Stuff we do around the house tends to get pitched unless it is especially memorable or beloved.

  12. Cold art gallery! Love it.
    Among the million things I miss about not having my own house right now is our refrigerator, with its photos and doodles and oodles of magnets. We would have missed the fridgefarm too much, so that migrated with us. Along with my favorite Elvis and Nixon magnet, which I decided I couldn’t live nine months without.
    When we move back, the fridge will be transformed. Eight months make a lot of difference in toddler art!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.