Haiku Friday

July 30, 2010 at 3:31 pm | Posted in Giggles, Haiku Friday, Lollipop | 20 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: The Suds Edition

Washing cars is fun.
(Uh-huh, you read that right, friends.)
Fun for the pint-sized.

Buckets of bubbles,
Brushes, water, and towels
Make small hands happy.

Dip your fingers in
The sudsy, soapy water,
And fling at sibling.

Shriek. A lot. Then help.
Reapply soap to spot that
Daddy just rinsed off.

Get soaked. That’s the point.
Ignore your soggy britches.
Two more tires to scrub.

The spray from the hose
Tickles your nose. And you laugh.
Or cry. Sometimes both.

Wear the uniform.
Hats and flip-flops required.
Tutu optional.

Do your kiddos enjoy washing the car? Do you? And does anyone wear a tutu??

+++

 

Haiku Friday

20 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve never worn a tutu to wash a car, but you’re inspiring me. Who wants to wash the car?

  2. I always wear my tutu! cute poem 🙂

  3. So, so sweet!

    We’ve let the kids help with the INSIDE of the car a few times (my daughter loves to clean the windows!), but we go through the car wash for the exterior (which they also enjoy). Honestly, I just don’t have the patience. I should try to have more fun (and just let them get wet/dirty/giggley)! 🙂

    • I don’t have the patience either. That’s why Daddy is the car-and-toddler-washing wrangler and I merely document the event. =>

  4. Note to self: Must teach toddler to wash car.

    (This is great! Thank you)

  5. note to self: remember to play! no toddlers needed.

    EB

  6. Hehe! Love your friday haikus 🙂 And car washing is a definite favorite around here!

    P.S. I mentioned you on my blog today….hope you don’t mind!

  7. Love the “tutu optional” comment!

    • Well, it’s optional for everyone but Lollipop, of course. She couldn’t fathom washing the car in anything else. =>

  8. Lovely post and photos. We don’t attempt car washing here, for at least five months of the year it is way too hot to do during daylight hours, at least that’s our excuse. But we do wash the windows at the back of the house that sit in shade and that is an equally messy and enjoyable task. But then water and children always is a wonderful if messy combination 🙂

  9. You are so very, very clever! And my favorite is the first one.

  10. My daughter loves washing the car. She hasn’t helped in her tutu yet, but I am sure it is coming.

  11. My kids love playing with soap bubbles. We usually do it inside, though, while I’m washing the dishes. Have yet to see how well they clean the car.

  12. No tutus in this testosterone household. But we could do with some sweet sudsers to take care of the car!

  13. This is fabulous! We love, love, love waching the car… and the windows, and vacuuming. seriously, the fun never ends. everythign is exciting with a two year old.

  14. I think Lollipop would have a fellow tutu wearer in Pixie – no matter what the occasion! My kids love to wash the cars. I’m sure that will change when they get older and it becomes a chore!

  15. Great photos!! I just stumbled across your blog. I love it! I’m going to poke around, I promise to put everything back where I found it!

  16. My children get excited about car washing
    and then they get bored
    so I end up doing it 😦 alone LOL
    Oh yeah my Banana wears tutus we would sleep in them if allowed. Had them on this morning.

  17. I am sure if I gave my girls half a chance they would wear a tutu to wash the car! Fabulous…

    Mich x

  18. Love it – the haiku, the tutu, the lot!

    Thanks for Rewinding at the Fibro.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.