Haiku Friday

August 6, 2010 at 5:22 am | Posted in Bun, Haiku Friday | 15 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Eye Contact

It starts in his eyes,
Baby blues dotted with the
Shade they’re meant to be.

Those two glittery
Orbs light the path from my heart
To my toes and back.

Then his nose crinkles
And his lips turn up into
A cherry half-moon.

My baby’s first smile.
He looks at me like I’m the
Best part of his day.

True and honest, his
Tiny smile runs a mile deep.
There’s good in the world.

There’s good in me, too.
He coaxes patience and strength
From wells I thought dry.

In his face I see
What matters most. It’s these three,
Right here, now, always.

How would you describe your baby’s first smile? How did it make you feel? And how does it make you feel still?

+++

Haiku Friday

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Your most beautiful Haiku yet…

  2. Stacia this is beautiful!

  3. Beautiful Stacia.

  4. I loved that. It was absolutely beautiful. A baby’s first smile at his mama is the most precious thing ever. Really great job, Stacia!

  5. I held a newborn today…he fell asleep on me…pure heaven…until, you know, the fussing, pooping, writhing starts. But to be a Mama to a newborn, such love and devotion.

  6. Awww… Such a sweet haiku.

  7. This was absolutely beautiful.

  8. This is so lovely. I didn’t know that we had to wait so many weeks before we had a first glimpse of our baby’s smile but when it happened, it was worth the wait. Just magical!

  9. That chub? DELICIOUS!!!

  10. Oh my goodness, what a wonderful poem. And that photo… so sweet. Makes my heart catch, missing my babies’ smiles.

  11. Ooh, I love that photo. He looks edible.

  12. I love it, he’s so precious. I miss my baby, he’s too big now. Do you have a time machine?

  13. Tres beautiful.

    Like 6512 (but a couple days later), I had the pleasure of holding a 2-month-old today who fell asleep on me. I missed the whole church service I’d worked and sweated and walked for … because it was worth the tradeoff to watch her sleep.

    He looks so sweet. Congrats!!!

  14. You ARE the best part of his day, and that right there is one of the best parts of being a mom.

    I remember my heart simply filling up almost to bursting when my babies started smiling.

    Lately, my baby (who is almost six) has taken to following me everywhere, and tearing up when I have to leave for school or work. When I asked him why he’s so sad, he says “I just love you SO MUCH, Mommy, I want to be with you ALL THE TIME!”

    Oh, dear. Kindergarten starts in three weeks…

    I can feel the love you have for your little ones shine right through this blog! I love it!

  15. How great you are chronicling all this. I like how you talked about how his smile brings out the good in you as well. So true. I remember my son’s first smile – at the time baby books were saying these early smiles were probably gas, but it felt so real to me and made him seem so human. I told myself it was a real smile, and he was happy to be there with us.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

