Eat, Blog, Love

August 12, 2010 at 5:00 am | Posted in Family | 49 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I started blogging because I was in a rut. Every day brought tantrums, refusals to eat, refusals to nap, more dog hair than I could possibly vacuum, and more television than I wanted us to watch. Every day brought tedium. Monotony. I was unhappy.

But I knew that wasn’t really true. I was happy. I had exactly what I wanted: a happy marriage, healthy children, and the means to stay home with them. What I needed was to rediscover the joy I had lost somewhere in the midst of the trains, blocks, books, and tulle scattered across my house.

So I published my first post. And the seven months since have done just what I hoped they would. I see things differently. I am a more patient, more loving partner and mother. I’m mindful of my blessings. I remember to be happy.

But there’s more. Through these months of blogging, I’ve found friends. I’ve cried and laughed and shared motherhood with a community of women who understand how wonderful and difficult it is to raise a child.

I’ve been reminded that mothers have courage beyond measure.

That the tough questions are always tough.

That motherhood requires nothing if not ingenuity.

That it rarely goes as planned.

That children are teachers, too.

That loving them means letting go.

That if I don’t take care of myself, I can’t take care of them.

That love always wins, even when we hurt.

That mothers dream big.

That our hands, like our hearts, are always full.

That the most ordinary things often hold the most meaning.

That a child needs her mother, no matter how old she is.

That building a partnership is the toughest, best work.

That we never have enough time.

That every day is a fresh start.

Most of all, I’m reminded nearly every day that my life is what I make it. And the life I have chosen comes with tantrums, picky eaters, and dog hair. Even tedium. But it also comes with tiny voices and big smiles. With hands to hold and bodies to hug. With cookies to bake and memories to make.

It’s delicious and it’s mine. But I’ll share.

Why do you blog? What have you learned? And what keeps you posting?

+++

Bigger Picture Moment

This post is also part of the celebration for my friend Janeโ€™s one-year blogging anniversary. Congratulations, Jane!

49 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I blog to better process and understand myself. Every word and photo and phrase and comment leads to a deeper understanding of who I am and what I’m capable of. Hopefully, my words (esp via comments) do the same for others.

  2. This is such a great post (and not just ‘cos I’m in it, really in it!). I feel the same way you do. I feel like I found that little creative spark that is me, Bronny. I had lost it in the middle of routine and nappies and don’t do thats. It’s marvellous.

  3. I feel so honored to be considered one of your circle. Truly. Because so many days I have arrived here and, like the softness of a bunny, you have brought me back to myself to help remind me who I am and why I am alive doing what I do. What a treasure to know that it goes both ways.

  4. Stacia, this is exactly why I’ve missed this community so much during my crazy, camp- and construction-filled summer. It’s so nice to feel included around here when in my local life I start to feel like a woman on an island. (And hey – I appreciate that you saw ingenuity where I saw a series of shrugs!) Thanks for the glass-half-full perspective!

  5. I blog to share my life with family and friends across the country. To connect with other woman who have lives that are very similar or drastically different than mine. I blog to escape the bordom of staying at home. And to feel like more than just a mom.

  6. To be honest, I started blogging three years ago as part of a contest I saw in Creating Keepsakes scrapbooking magazine. I didn’t win the contest, but I did win a whole lot more. When I started blogging, my only faithful reader was my big sister. Now I have gone on trips with my blog-sisters, met more than a dozen of them In Real Life, and like you, have connected with women from around the world. I love it, and have no intention on stopping anytime soon.

    Great post! I loved that post of Mep’s, too!

  7. I blog because I love to write. I started blogging last year in order to cope with my father’s passing. It has been cathartic for me to blog about the full range of my emotions. I’ve also learned to blog about other areas that interest me. I blog to connect, share and learn about myself and others.

    I will definitely check out the blogs that you mentioned.

  8. I have always found a great comfort in the community as well. Thanks for the link and not shying away from the tough stuff. You don’t know how much that means.

    I blog because I’m a writer. I have a full time job copy writing, but blogging is my more creative outlet โ€” the place I can tell my stories. I’ve been doing it for 3+ years, and I just love it. I need it, especially now when I’ve got so much going on, and so much worry. I need to get it out somewhere.

    Thanks for reading. Thanks for commenting. I’m glad you’ve joined the community! You’ve a lovely voice and a lovely way of writing.

  9. love this list.
    i blog to process all the stuff in my head and remember.
    …..but I have started seeing things differently. I started living more. I started soaking in moments.

  10. There are so many posts that have inspired me in the past that I would love to be able to share them with my community too. The ones you’ve provided here and the lessons you learned from them are truly the reasons why I’m here myself. Well, I take that back. I started to blog because I needed to write, and I also wanted to share news about my daughter with family and friends. More importantly I wanted my daughter to be able to read my entries one day and know me, and know how much she is loved.

    But it’s challenging to juggle so many tasks with a full-time job and parenting so I probably would’ve given it up if it wasn’t for this community here. It’s through the support from fellow bloggers like you that continue to fuel my passion and make sleep deprivation worth it.

    Thank you for this Stacia. It is a wonderful post! Great big picture moment for sure.

  11. Hi!

    I first started writing down our family stories for my extended family, just for fun. Now it’s morphed to include blog lessons on faith with a few funnies interspersed.

    I blog as an outlet. It is my quiet place. I also blog to grow, because writing for me is the process of listening to what God has to say to me about my experiences in life.

    I blog to test the waters of my gifts to see where God will use them.

    I keep writing because it’s exhilarating to hear just one comment of “Thank you. I needed this.”

    Pursuing Joy….KJ

  12. This is so interesting, Stacia, because I started a blog for the same reasons! (I didn’t realize you’ve only been doing this for seven months. We must have started around the same time!) I called my blog An Attitude Adjustment because I was hoping that it would adjust my attitude, and it really, really has. Having a space to reveal my daily trials and the myriad thoughts spinning around in my brain has made me a calmer person, more inspired by the little moments in each day that others might take for granted. I really enjoy your blog. Thanks for writing it!

  13. I started blogging to remind myself that I still have a brain…a brain that isn’t all about laundry or the potty or Yo Gabba Gabba. Happy 7 months!

    • Oh, but you know there’s a party in your tummy, especially with all those yummies you cook up. =>

  14. When I started blogging six months ago I jokingly stated that one of the reasons I was doing it was in lieu of therapy. Well, guess what, it has been just the therapy I needed, communion and companionship, talking about how I was feeling and thinking and learning I was definitely not the only one who was unhappy, because I was unhappy. So much for me has changed too and because of that I am now happy, a better Mom and better partner (still work to do there). As TKW says I also started blogging to use my brain for something other than Mommyland related activity and I am just so loving challenging myself to try out different things.

    Great post. Happy 7 months.

  15. I started blogging to get out so many of the emotions that I was going through in trying to get pregnant. Now, I blog because I just love to write.

    Happy 7 months!

  16. Gosh, am excited to find myself in such great company. Am still not entirely sure why I started blogging, but am so glad I did – as you say, it’s the other bloggers you find and connect with that make the journey so special. And I’ve never known anyone who can say as much in 17 syllables as you can. ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. I have found that I cannot live without writing… I am not a support group kind of person. Lately, I cannot leave the house without my journal because I HAVE to get it out, and blogging lets me open myself up, to share with others, and get some support and feedback. It helps me get IT out there in no other way I know. Thanks for the mention :). I love your perspective (and kindness).

  18. I blog to write and to remember. I blog because it validates me in ways that being home cannot. I blog to remind myself that my mind is complex even when my days are simple.

  19. I blog for myself. I too was in a rut, but with work. My friends and family don’t even know that I blog (except for my hub, he reads)…it is truly for me. It gives me focus, inspires me to be adventurous and has brought my photography to a new level. I have “met” so many inspiring and creative people. I get so much more out of blogging than I ever thought I would. Thanks for sharing your moment.

  20. Hmmm, this is topical for me today. I’m thinking I may be almost done with the blog. I think wonderful bloggers like you and some others have kept me going the past few months. But I can always stop in from time to time, right? I used to think I had something to say. But I’m not so sure any more.

  21. I blog because I learn more about myself. And I feel like if I can help one other person through a similar situation, then I have done a “good thing”. But now, my blogging has become so much a part of my life, about who I am, and what I do…I cannot imagine giving it up.

  22. What a beautiful tribute to blogging and to all of the wonderful, inspiring bloggers out there! Great list!

  23. This is such a beautiful post. I love your sentiments.

    I blog as a creative outlet and also as a way of keeping and treasuring memories (I’m sadly not disciplined enough to scrap book regularly). I find if I have other creative endeavors “eating” my brain space, I blog less….but blogging is always there when the mood strikes. I hope one day Teva will read my posts and feel all the love and enjoy hearing about hjerself when she was little.

  24. Beautiful post! I started blogging to practice my writing. What I found was my voice. Thank you for sharing this. I want to take some time and look through all those links!

  25. Wow. I love your half glass full view. It always makes my day better. When I started bloggin, I had no idea of what I was getting myself into, I thought I just needed to put my words down. But it’s more. Thank you for being so kind and generous. Always.

  26. Being the nerd that I am, I have a personal mission statement for my blog:

    “This blog serves as historical document, a place to practice the craft of writing and plant seeds for a future livelihood.

    It also helps me to see the details of motherhood, of life: the delicious and gnarly.

    *looking forward to clicking thru all your links

  27. I blog to have a place to organize my thoughts. And I’ve learned that I can write! And I’ve been encouraged, and I think I’m even begining to make friends. ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. What a thoughtful post on blogging ๐Ÿ™‚ I needed to read this… after so many post BlogHer ones that almost make me forget the core of blogging.
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. This is just beautiful. I’m so glad that you started blogging because you really do write beautifully. Isn’t it amazing that despite the extra hours and efforts required to write, it actually calms you and makes you happier?

    I love blogging because it’s given me a chance to process experiences and emotions I never paid much attention to. The feedback from comments has also taught me so much about myself, since I keep wanting to improve as a person. Mainly I am so appreciative of the friends I have made. What a big bonus and surprise that has been.

  30. Iโ€™ve been keeping up to date with your site, but just donโ€™t always have time to comment (sorry). Just thought Iโ€™d say hello again so you know Iโ€™m here!

  31. Wonderful — I’m so glad you found this outlet for your thoughts, and this way to fill out some of the tedium of day to day life.

    I started to blog because I was lonely. I wanted to make friends and make connections. And it’s worked! I have friends and even someone I’d consider my soul-sister — all because of blogging. But since then, I’ve also discovered that I blog to empty my head and make sense of my world. I blog to feel like I’m contributing, and to feel like I’m saying something worthwhile. I blog to re-learn my love of writing.

    Blogging is good ๐Ÿ™‚

  32. I was intrigued by your “eat, blog, love” title on another blogs comment section so visited you here. It’s funny, but… you sound JUST like me – I started my blog to keep my sanity and to shout into the anonymous Internet and tell anyone who would listen about my crazy life …. with four kids – home after working for years – not being able to sit, let alone eat or sleep for… well… days, right? Anyway, I’ve found a nice group of people via my blog – from all over the US – from right in my own backyard – who have allowed me to share and vent and question and comment and…. it’s just been great. Anyway, agree with Sarah too – that it does help with any loneliness you might feel -for whatever reason – it helps you find kindred spirits. You can visit me anytime :-): http://www.trendymomcafe.blogspot.com

  33. Stacia,
    I love you, I love your writing, I love your blog.
    You are gifted, talented and special. Keep writing.
    hugs,
    steph

  34. “Itโ€™s delicious and itโ€™s mine. But Iโ€™ll share.”

    Sharing. Funny how being a parent often comes back to living out the core lessons we learn as children. Your words have such a soft, lovely flow. And so much truth behind them.

  35. What a fabulous reflection on your life as a blogger! And I love how you share the love with us, helping us to see ourselves and discover other wonderful bloggers with your links. You are a generous, kind soul and I’m so glad to have found you! Thanks for helping me celebrate! Looking forward to celebrating YOUR one year blogaversary!

  36. I write to process my experiences and share them. It’s less expensive than therapy and hopefully it will provide help or entertainment for others.

    I also blog because I love writing. It is such a passion of mine and by blogging, it gives me an “audience” to write for and an end product.

  37. Awww… thank you!! It’s an honor to be included! I too have been amazed by the connections that I have made with some wonderful women. Happy 7 months!!

  38. I started blogging because I love to write and I wanted a place to get out my thoughts. Since I found your blog and a few others though, I’ve realized what wonderful, gifted people exist in the blogosphere.

    I am thankful to have stumbled upon this community, and I am honored to be mentioned here. Thank you!

  39. Enjoy your list Such an honest reflection of motherhood. I have a 14 year old and I remember “those days” and live “those days” in a different way now. I would also like to add on days when” tantrums, picky eaters, and dog hair” are to much take your turn, ask for help, or just give in. . .you will have that “fresh start” when tomorrow is brighter!

    Thanks for sharing. Nice to meet you are Jane’s anniversary party!
    Katybeth

  40. […] it turns out, there are some really amazing blogs on the internet. I mean, written by some really talented people. People I wish I could invite over for a play date. People I’d love to have lunch with. […]

  41. After a dozen days of travel and family time, I’m finally back in blogworld and completely honored to be included in your post. Wow.

    I started blogging because I had a black cloud of an unfinished dissertation hanging over my head and thought it would feel great to finish writing “something.” I did not anticipate the joy and community and inspiration I have found in writing and reading blog posts. Blogging makes me a better mom, for sure, and also helps me to remember the woman I was before I was a mom.

    I am so thrilled that are blog paths have crossed and hope we meet in real life one of these days. You are a wonderful writer and your posts always give me something to think about, admire, connect with, and just plain enjoy.

    I’m looking forward to catching up on all the ones I’ve missed the past week or so.

  42. Hello! I’m here via the Fibro’s Rewind – what a gorgeous post!!! You have exactly described how I felt prior to blogging (and after blogging too) – I will definitely be back! Cheers xxx

  43. Ah, how I love your blog. I’m so glad you got started with it. I haven’t been around often enough, I know – but I always feel as though I just walk on in, put the kettle on and relax.

    Thanks for Rewinding at the Fibro.

  44. I blog because I talk too much and I can’t say everything I want to say via twitter. I blog because there are so many experiences and I get so excited about little nuggets of gold I come across and I just want to share them. I blog because I’m always benefiting from someone else’s wisdom so I want others to be able to also share in the learning.
    Happy re-winding.

  45. I love to write, and I wanted to connect with other mums.

  46. I blog because I’m compelled to write, and I need a repository for my words. That’s also why I write post after post, and don’t want to stop. But I learned that it’s not just me out there. There’s a whole community of other bloggers, and I’m slowly getting to know them. They’re a very talented bunch, and I enjoy reading their stories.

  47. I blog because I love sharing my stories and sense of humor. What I didn’t expect when I started, was meeting so many other bloggers and becoming part of this amazing virtual community. It’s the icing on the cake!

  48. I am calling in from the Fibro – what a great post.

    Like you, I blog to distance myself from the tedium. I started way before kids – so I guess there is a link between writing it all out, and escape…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

