So You Think You Can Eat

August 19, 2010 at 5:08 am | Posted in Bun | 22 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Bun and I have a little routine that we do, oh, five or six times a day. It goes a little something like this …

Sway.

Sway. Rock, sway, rock.

Sway. Rock, sway, rock. Dip, dip, dip.

Sway. Rock, sway, rock. Dip, dip, dip. Shuffle left. Shuffle right. Pirouette.

Sway. Rock, sway, rock. Dip, dip, dip. Shuffle left. Shuffle right. Pirouette. Bounce (a little), bounce (a lot).

Sway. Rock, sway, rock. Dip, dip, dip. Shuffle left. Shuffle right. Pirouette. Bounce (a little), bounce (a lot). Ball change, ball change, ball change.

Sway. Rock, sway, rock. Dip, dip, dip. Shuffle left. Shuffle right. Pirouette. Bounce (a little), bounce (a lot). Ball change, ball change, ball change. Box-step, box-step, repeat, repeat, repeat.

Sway. Rock, sway, rock. Dip, dip, dip. Shuffle left. Shuffle right. Pirouette. Bounce (a little), bounce (a lot). Ball change, ball change, ball change. Box-step, box-step, repeat, repeat, Repeat. Swaaaaay, and swaaaaaaaay, and swaaaaaaaaaaay.

By the time we’re done, the bottle is finished. (Jazz hands!) Bun’s eyes are droopy.

And my quads? They’re beat.

Did you and your baby have a feeding-time dance routine? Any other special rituals? What mothering task gives you the best workout?

22 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. When my little guy was born he wouldnt go to sleep without being rocked. So for the first 3 months, hubby and I took turns rocking him to sleep. My arms were intense after those first 3 months.

    The things we do to get our little ones to calm down 🙂

  2. Oh I so remember the rock and sway rock and sway all day rock and sway. There was also the ‘bumperbah’ were we patted the bum to a ridiculous tune over and over and over. I am so glad that I’m freeeeeee of the patting 101… but I kinda miss it too!!

  3. I remember standing in a line with my sisters one day – all of us with little babies – and we were all swaying and rocking, subconsciously, despite the fact that our babies were in the capable hands of others. Groups of mums the world over know all the moves for the rock and pat.

  4. Ha – love it! Great multi-tasking!

  5. I remember the haze of this routine. My daughter would cry in-between so I would have to walk around a little to calm her down for her feed.

  6. I walked a circuit after feeding my first. She had reflux and had to stay up. So, I walked around and around. I made-up foot work, all very sedate, to keep me moving and her sleeping. It’s so hard to find time to exercise…

  7. I remember the rock for Corinne. It involved wrapping her SO tightly with sharp spins and beating on her back. Sounds violent, eh?

  8. Feeding was the easiest. Rock, rock, rock on chair as she nursed. That’s it. Didn’t help my quads any, but sure gave me some quiet moments with her, and to myself. Sleeping on the other hand….boy did we feel like a monkey.

  9. I’ve always been one of those physical moms. Tossing kids up, doing deep knee bends while holding them to make them laugh. So they see me as the playground of fun. And I’m breakable too, you know. Now he’s 13 and thinks I can do wheelies.

  10. I miss the rocking. I need a new baby!

  11. I love this (and your clever title). When Jack was Bun’s age, he was a bit collicky, and my dancing just didn’t cut it. Instead, he rode through the air on my husband’s forearm – mine wasn’t strong enough to be a cradle for 45 minutes straight!

  12. Honestly? I mostly just begged :-).

  13. I used to pace, sway and rock our way through the house while trying to calm my son down or get him to sleep in the middle of the night. Or major rocking/swinging if he was in overdrive (not the scary shaking baby kind of course). Worked like a charm.

  14. Oh the sweetness!! That pictures is making me swoon..
    We had a dance like that for sleeping, not so much for eating 🙂

  15. I wish I had a little one to sway to sleep. I love your posts with photos of that sweet little guy!

  16. OH, I love this. That photo is so precious. I love to watch women waiting in lines, myself included. We slowly rock back and forth, a leftover instinct from the baby swaying days. It’s soothing, even w/o the baby.

  17. I have participated in this nightly routine many times. I can clearly remember the dance with Andrew–much swaying, rocking, and a few leaps. Ok, not really. Still, set to our favorite song, this dance became a favorite nighttime routine of ours.

  18. It wasn’t to eat, but when my 4yo was a baby we had to sway and dance with him to go to sleep. This would sometimes last for hours, passing him off between my husband and myself. This lasted for months. It’s a good leg exercise, but I swore never again.

  19. I think of dancing with my babies every time I stand in front of the produce at the grocery store. Those were the days when I wondered if I’d forever sway when I shopped, even when I stopped carrying around babies.

    I did stop.

    And it’s kind of sad.

  20. It really is all about the jazz hands finish.

  21. Oh, my goodness, your little Bun is SO precious. Aww. So precious. No dance here — just a scramble to unhook the bra as quickly as possible. lol.

  22. Nowadays there isn’t much physicality involved in my parenting except for the stooping to kiss and soothe or the occasional trip upstairs with a sleeping girl in my arms. But there are so many trips up and down the stairs to fetch this and put away that and mediate this other thing. My legs are in great shape!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.