Haiku Friday

August 28, 2010 at 6:04 am | Posted in Haiku Friday, Lollipop | 9 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Painting the Town

Picture princesses,
Lots of them, sparkling, swishing,
And sharing ketchup.

’Twas Fairy Tale Night —
Tiny royalty eat free.
Face painting for all!

Behold the power
Of the pink butterfly eyes:
She waited two hours.

And she was patient.
Mostly. She only punched her
Brother once … or twice.

Last in line, giddy
From being up much too late,
She climbed in the chair.

A little lady
In waiting, every sequin
Radiating joy.

Then the big reveal …
Glitter! Sparkle! Pink! Happy!
Smiles all the way home.

Asleep in minutes.
Glitter on her pillowcase.
All her dreams come true.

Have you ever let your kiddos stay up late for something they really wanted? Seen them exhibit patience you didn’t think they possessed? Gotten paint stains off of bed linens??

+++

Haiku Friday

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh how I love your haikus. I look forward to them every week. You are a beautiful poet. Some of your phrases are perfect: “every sequin / radiating joy” and “sparkling, swishing / sharing ketchup” are my favourites this week. There are always favourites.

    As for up late, patience and paint off the bed linen. Nothing from me this week! If you find an cure for the paint on the linen, please let me know!!! x

  2. How sweet! (And of course, I’m thinking about you, who is sacrificing your own quiet time for that glitter, too!)

  3. Beautiful! I am no help on stains. Dye the pillow case?

  4. My daughter loves face paint and she would love this party. I’ve let my daughter stay up to watch movies, fireworks, and of course at Disneyland.

  5. This is sooooo sweet…made me smile.
    MY daughter and son loves face painting however the minute it is finished my son wants it off and … so does my daughter luckily they leave it on long enough for me to take a picture of it… so no dont know how to get it off a pillow lol

  6. Your daughter must have been so delighted to wake up with glitter and paint on her face. “It was not a dream!”

    As much as Little Miss is a schedule follower, we’ve been pushing her on weekends so she could hang out with some of the older kids with later bedtimes and she’s done amazingly well. Even surprised us. She’s not had her face painted yet but I rather imagine she would love it once she sits still long enough for it. And that would be….when exactly?

  7. Yes, I’m all for allowing a princess to stay up late to have her face painted! She must have been thrilled!

  8. Ooh, and very well-done facepaint, too! That’s the stuff my October dreams were made of, once upon a time, as I planned for Halloween.
    As for staying up late, too often I find myself keeping Jack up late so that we can do what WE want – not the best strategy for him, but he always has fun. It’s the next day that we all suffer!

  9. Every sequin radiating joy . . . I love that!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.