Photo Tuesday

September 21, 2010 at 9:17 pm | Posted in Giggles, Photo Tuesday | 26 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

“Look in his bag when you get home,” his teacher whispered as she handed me his orange backpack, the blue elephant on it streaked with almost as much dirt as my son. “There’s something for you.”

I nearly forgot. Between hauling in discarded shoes and baggies of half-eaten graham crackers from the car. Between washing dusty, sweaty faces, hands, and feet and corralling toddlers for one last potty break before books and naps. Between feeding and soothing the hot and cranky baby. I almost missed it.

This. I almost missed this, this bouquet of purple flowers picked just for me on a nature walk at preschool. These wilted blooms, tucked tenderly between spare socks and shorts. These precious weeds that made my afternoon, and my heart, blossom.

Do you remember the first bouquet from your child? What’s the best thing you’ve found in a schoolbag? And the worst??

+++

See more flowers in bloom at Beth’s on Thursday.

Photobucket

26 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That’s probably the sweetest thing I think I’m going to see all day. Maybe even tomorrow. Nothing beats a weed bouquet from a little sweetie.

  2. First off, I LOVE that backpack!

    Secondly, how sweet that he picked you a whole bouquet!

    (I’m glad it wasn’t a dead bug, ’cause that’s what Gabe usually finds and is thrilled to share with me!)

    • I frequently get rocks, so purple flowers were a welcome surprise! =>

  3. Gorgeousness. The scrunched up flowers in a chubby fist, picked just for mumma. Makes my heart swell. x

  4. Well, that’s just about as sweet as it gets. (And I’m so impressed that the teacher remembered to tell you. Preschool teachers should all be nominated for sainthood in my book!)

    • And it was actually Lollipop’s teacher! They are amazing, all of them.

  5. Lovely! My baby has learned from her sister to pick flowers and give them to me. “Flur”. 🙂

  6. He is so sweet! Best gift ever.

  7. This just tugs at my little heartstrings. So precious!

  8. What a thoughtful little boy you have!!

  9. Well, so far, the worst has only been ALL.THE.PAPER. I’m sure there is plenty of time to find forgotten gym socks or half-eaten snacks.

    As far as the best? I love finding “artwork” for me, labeled “TO MOM”. I love discovering that Flora draws pictures of her little brother inside hearts. I love seeing that Kate can make all the letters of her name, although she doesn’t put them in the right order. And I love finding library books, because it gives me insight into what my kids are interested in.

    How very sweet of Giggles to bring you flowers.

  10. I smiled when I read about this – the quick status version! – earlier. That little backpack (backpachyderm?) is sweet enough, but the thoughtful surprise? Hardly wilted, Stacia!

    • Backpachyderm! I love it. =>

  11. My boy brings me rocks because that’s what I love. And I love them. He brings really pretty ones and sometimes not. But I always adore the careful thought of me during his adventures.

  12. My throat felt tight reading this and seeing the little bouquet. You are a lucky mama to have such a thoughtful sweetie.

  13. Awe, this just mealted my heart. I remember all those precious dandelions that used t be picked just for me. I wished I had pressed some of them.

  14. Ah, that is so sweet… what a special treasure. Did you just want to hug him and never let go?

  15. My son wrote an 5 line essay about how much he loved his Mummy… and yes that is me 😀 LOL

    I have given you the Versatile Blogger Award and would love for you to come by and pick it up when you have time.
    http://ishouldnthavetosay.blogspot.com/2010/09/i-got-award.html

  16. How sweet! My daughter loves to pick dandelions for her daddy and me, and any other flower she can get to. I love the sweet little bouquets of weeds.

  17. Aw! What a sweet story! You might have the best flowers yet. 🙂

  18. That is so sweet! I miss those days when my boy was little.

    Mine is here. http://razzamadazzle.wordpress.com/2010/09/23/flowers/

  19. Awwwwww! I love it.

  20. So beautiful. I found a 2-week old bowl of scuzzy and moldy applesauce in Javi’s backpack tonight. Not quite the same as a sweet bouquet.

  21. That is really sweet.

  22. Awwww… I do remember. I have received dandelions and flowery weeds for years and dread the day that it is a distant memory…

  23. Oh that is so excellent. Pixie picks me flowers all the time. Dandelions mostly – but still – I love every one.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.