Haiku Friday

October 8, 2010 at 3:00 pm | Posted in Haiku Friday, Lollipop | 10 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Small Talk

Why doesn’t every
Restaurant have a drive-through
And sell us pancakes?

Why can’t babies talk?
Why can’t they drink from a straw?
And where are their teeth?

What can’t we go to
The pool even though it’s cold?
Could we just wear scarves?

Why am I a girl?
Why aren’t there boy princesses?
Can he wear my dress?

Was I there when you
Married Daddy? How did I
Get in your tummy?

How did I know when
To be born? Can I have a
Kangaroo baby?

Why do we need shots?
How does it kill the flu germs?
Did it hurt, Mommy?

Can I drive the car?
Why’s there gas in the pedal?
What is a license?

Mommy needs some quiet.
No more questions, ’kay? But why β€”
I bet Daddy knows.

Gender roles, sex ed, public health, taxonomy β€” how do you handle the why’s? Ever been asked a doozy? Ever deferred to your better half??

+++

Haiku Friday

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have chosen to be the dumbest mom on the planet lest I wind up in the black hole of whys. I indulge a few whys and then I simply don’t know anything. At all. About anything.

  2. HA! I loved this – it is my life right now. When you struggle to come up with an answer and are just about to congratulate yourself on a great answer up pipes a little voice only to say “but why” again πŸ™‚

  3. I defer to Daddy.

    I believe Kelly’s advice works too.

  4. Why? Why? Why? Why? Why?
    It drives me crazy, you know
    But I love it too

  5. Cute! And so true! The questions… They never end! But it’s fun, too! πŸ™‚

  6. I have three little ‘whyers’ on the go right now – I’m about four years in with about four to go. In the past I often found myself saying ‘well, I don’t know’ until Max said “I’m going to ask Daddy because his answers are better than yours”. Now I answer in the most fascinating detail possible and their eyes glaze over. x

  7. The questions have not started but the talking, yes, I can see it quickly turning to the questions you listed here, where I’m actually required to respond. She now has a commentary on everything. Purple socks. Mommy is tired. Car is too loud. Red dress on baby. I can only imagine what’s in my future. Wish me luck?

  8. My favorite, of course …

    Why doesn’t every
    Restaurant have a drive-through
    And sell us pancakes?

    • And you know exactly which restaurant she’s talking about! πŸ™‚

  9. I love this. You really can write a book with the questions that kids ask! Yes, I’ve been asked how can I pee if I don’t have a penis, how big is the opening through which he came out, and the hardest one of all, “Why are you driving 41 miles if the sign on the road says speed limit 35 miles”? The hardest is when they catch us grown ups doing the very things we tell him he can’t do.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.