Haiku Friday

October 22, 2010 at 11:38 pm | Posted in Bun, Giggles, Lollipop | 11 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Mommy, Interrupted

No time to haiku.
Daddy’s out of town this week.
I’m still sane. Barely.

What’s that? Can you help?
Sure. Let me borrow your hands.
Send virtual meals.

Kids are clean. And clothed.
Laundry folded. Dishes done.
Mommy’s done, too. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

How do you adjust when you’re parenting alone? If you’re a single parent, mind sharing your best tips? And can anyone overnight me a cache of emergency PBJs??

+++

Haiku Friday

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Lone parenting is so tough – every time LOML is away it makes me realise how much he actually does when he’s here. I do know that when he’s gone, I go into hyper-parenting mode and over parent and over clean and run the house like clockwork. Come bedtime I’m like a sentry, guarding against the night. Exhausting. x

  2. Sometimes, I just give up. Let the laundry lie in the hampers, where it multiplies. We eat simply, making few dishes. Better, we eat somewhere else. Anywhere else.

    Its possible alone, but parenting feels best shared.

  3. Hi Stacia – for me parenting alone during the week is really not much different, my husband when he is here leaves for work before my daughter is awake usually and gets home not long before bed time. But I only have one child to look after, not three. Therein lies a world of difference. In the past weekends alone have sometimes dragged but last time my husband was away for ten days I just planned lots of outings and so went by pretty fast.

  4. I find that it tough to adjust to parenting without my husband, but once I adjust, it works out fine. But my kids are older. Anything with a baby is more challenging because they just need you so much.

  5. Hi Stacia,
    I’m totally done right now too. And Hubs is teaching all day tomorrow. I don’t think I can ever muster up some vitual muffins. Sorry – next time I promise.

  6. Seriously, we’re sharing a life. J. was in CA for three nights this week! I have no tips, just a survivalist attitude. Everyone’s alive, and that’s good. Leaving the house actually helps a lot.

  7. I HATE it when Ben goes out of town. My heart is with you. If I lived nearby, you bet I’d be bringing you dinner. Every night. : )

  8. I did lots of lone parenting when my husband was in grad school. One of my favorite things during that time was a trade I worked out with my friend: I took my kids to her house and we cleaned and cooked there. Then she brought her gang to my house and we did the same. It felt like a party rather than work.

  9. My husband works many nights and I usually use those nights to clean because that is the only way I can entertain my daughter. I recruit her to help with laundry and cleaning her room. Other times, we try to organize playdates if he is doing a longer shift during the daytime. But really Stacia, it is hard work. I don’t know how single moms do it.

  10. I’m single-mommying this weekend too. I have to say that now that the kids are 3 and 5, I like it. 2 years ago it was a weekend-long nightmare. Now, I hang with my girlfriends while the collective littles run wild, ignore dishes, take the kids out to eat (once), and everything just sort of relaxes all around, especially the housecleaning.

  11. Edited to add: but you have every right to be just barely sane. The zzzzz’s sound perfect.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.