Haiku Friday

October 29, 2010 at 9:35 pm | Posted in Bun, Family, Giggles, Lollipop | 17 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: My Trick-or-Treat Manifesto

Just say no to the
“value” bag. Give out chocolate
Or turn off your light.

You can keep these, too:
Tootsie Rolls, Starbursts, Milk Duds,
And licorice. Blech!

Be generous with
The little kids. Be stingy
with everyone else.

Count the number of
Snow Whites you see. Get to 10,
Have candy. Or beer.

Ration the kids’ stock.
Then help yourself at bedtime.
I won’t tell. Promise.

Happy Halloween!

What are your trick-or-treating rules? What are your kids going to be? And ’fess up, did you buy the “value bag” or the good stuff??

+++

Haiku Friday

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hah! Definitely no value bags from us — mostly because we won’t eat the leftovers and if that’s the case…what’s the point of halloween?

    Love your haiku πŸ™‚

  2. I love that my daughter forgets how much candy she has at the end of the night. Because I totally snag some of her loot.

    I bought the value bag. Here’s hoping we give it all out!

  3. Are you kidding?! Send ME the tootsie rolls and starburst!! Those are my favorites!!

  4. Had to laugh as I looked at all those cheap candy bags and OK I could have bought twice as many treats but I decided to go with the good stuff, because that’s what my daughter likes and those sticky candy things, no thank you! I also figure if we have any left at the end of the night then I get to treat myself πŸ™‚

    Wishing you a wonderful Halloween night.

  5. you and I would be great sharing a bag of candy because I love all of the things you apparently hate :). Happy Halloween :).

  6. You can come trick-or-treating with me any day. I will happily trade you my Snickers, Milky Ways and Reeses for your Tootsie Rolls, Starbursts and Twizzlers. We’d be in heaven!

  7. We’re doing the Halloween thing on Sunday. The Tsunamis have the cutest / scariest costumes all ready to go.

    I would never miss your Haiku Friday, I love it so. x

  8. My favorite thing about Halloween when the kids were little was when we’d get home and the kids would dump everything out, sort it all into groups of “same stuff” and then begin to trade with each other. Oh! I just loved that.

    We’re too rural these days for trick-or-treaters.

  9. My husband got a value bag that they had left over at his work. We ate quite a bit out of it. Thing is, our neighborhood is lame. We don’t even trick or treat there. Every year I leave a bowl of candy on the steps and every year, it’s all there when I get back.

    And yes, I totally eat my kid’s candy after they go to sleep! Happy Halloween!

  10. I’ll take your Starbursts! Though I do prefer the chocolates, but I have to sneak those away from my kids. The little buggers have good ears and can hear even the faintest of wrappers opening.

  11. I’m now the mom standing in the candy aisle reading all the bags, hoping just ONE of the chocolate selections doesn’t say “May contain peanuts” or “manufactured in a plant that processes peanuts.” Found some Hershey bars (my least favorite), but the rest of it will be value junk to refill my daughter’s pumpkin after we have to take all the rest of hers away. I hate that we are “those people.” But, she loves the sugar junk the best anyway! And I am looking forward to her Reese’s Pieces!

  12. Love it! We’re done with trick or treating here for another year and I’m glad. It’s a US custom that’s taking off here and I’m not keen – doesn’t seem to make sense for us. But if I lived where you lived, there’s no way I’d buy the ‘value’ bag.

  13. If our rural situation didn’t exclude trick-or-treaters, I’d totally adopt your manifesto. Love it.
    This year, my primary rule was: If the boy doesn’t want to approach people for candy, I won’t do it for him.

  14. We had the best time this year! I’m not even a Halloween candy person but proud of my daughter’s loot πŸ™‚ I think My Guy will end up finishing everything in her basket. Wouldn’t that mean we put our daughter through child labor if she doesn’t get to enjoy much of what she earned?

  15. “Tootsie Rolls, Starbursts, Milk Duds, And licorice.” Some of my favorites, along with Snickers, Reese’s, Twix, Laffy Taffy, and Bit o’ Honey. Personal reject pile: Crunch, Three Musketeers, plain Hershey’s, Kit Kat. And I thought we understood each other!

  16. I love Tootsie Rolls and Starbusts. Don’t mind Twix, Snickers and Laffy Taffy too. No rules here. Just fun and a sugar filled night.

  17. […] OBJECTIVE Raise three kind, creative, patient, helpful, empathetic children while maintaining my sanity, marriage, and hidden cache of chocolate. […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.