Haiku Friday

November 5, 2010 at 11:30 am | Posted in Family | 12 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Members Only

Julie. Mackenzie.
Kari. Monica. Ellen.
Jennifer. Lyndsay.

Cancer. They’ve known it,
Fought it, lived strong, and cried hard.
Would I be that brave?

They’re members of a
Club they never asked to join.
Still, they smile. Love. Live.

Do you know a member of the club? How has your life been touched by cancer? Is your mind as heavy as mine this week?

+++

Haiku Friday

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a tribute to your courageous friends. You are right–not a club they’d asked to join, that’s for sure.

  2. Oh, yes. That powerful club. Sigh.

  3. Ah yes, I’m a card carrying member myself… I think it’s impossible these days to find somebody who hasn’t been impacted in some way.

    Sorry your mind has been heavy this week. I hope you have a great weekend!

  4. What a lovely tribute Stacia. I had goosebumps reading it.

    Unfortunately, my father passed from cancer (as you know) – I so wished he wasn’t part of that club.

  5. Aw thanks… you didn’t have to do that!

  6. I doubt there is a person alive whose life hasn’t been touched by cancer.

  7. It’s there somehow for everyone. But I cannot imagine having to be a fighter. I worry that I would not be strong enough. x

  8. Wow. A lovely tribute and reminder of that exclusive (though not desirable) club.

  9. My dad, but he is A-OK now!
    We all know members of that club, unfortunately.

  10. I’ve been fortunate in that my family has not been afflicted but I have friends who fought and are still fighting the disease. I can’t even imagine what they must go through. This is a wonderful tribute to these strong, beautiful people.

  11. Powerful! And yes I do. My dad has prostate cancer. But thankfully prognosis good. Hugs to you.
    xo

  12. Okay I wasn’t expecting that. Now I’m crying here at the scrabble game (I have all vowels so I’ve given up). Thanks Stacia.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.