Haiku Friday

November 19, 2010 at 7:20 am | Posted in Bun, Family, Giggles, Lollipop | 17 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Turkey See, Turkey Do

We’re off. Wish us luck.
Mom. Dad. Three kids. One stuffed car:
Turkey Day travels.

One thousand loooooooong miles.
Lots of Disney. And goldfish.
And tears and hitting.

He said “no” to me!
She stole my blankie! Waaaah! Whap!
Sniffle. And repeat.

Embrace the chaos.
But don’t forget Tylenol.
Drugged kids just might sleep.

Over the highways
And through six McDonald’s to
Grandma’s house we go.

How do you stay sane on long car trips? Do you, too, need a drink when you get there? Want to wager how many diapers will explode on our journey?

+++

Haiku Friday

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Let me guess… it must be Thanksgiving weekend in your part of the world!!! Enjoy and be grateful, dear Stacia. x

  2. Sorry I didn’t get to say a proper good-bye yesterday. Have a safe trip and we’ll see you in January!

  3. I like how you have already figured out how many McDonald’s you will be visiting on the way. A thousand miles with three little ones, that is very brave. Have a safe trip and a very Happy Thanksgiving.

  4. I was going to have a taste of my own road trip this Thanksgiving except we had to cancel our plans due to unforeseen (a pun!) circumstances with my now blind dog in recovery. So, I shall (somewhat gleefully) live vicariously through you because honestly, I wasn’t so sure I was going to enjoy eight hours in the car with my toddler.

    Have a safe trip and enjoy the holidays. At least there’s much love and turkey at the end of your journey πŸ™‚

  5. Eeeeks… good luck!!!

  6. Enjoy your travels and try to stay sane! Happy Thanksgiving, my American friend! PS: Love the photos in your last post! πŸ™‚

  7. Of course I need a drink! Actually, I could use one now, after imagining what our 1,000-mile trips would be like with a new baby plus two. Hugs! And love the hand-turkey – I almost want to make one of my own. I loved that about kindergarten.

  8. Safe travels!

  9. Car trips with kids is not fun. Here’s to hoping you all make it there and back in one piece, and without the need for too many drinks.

  10. Safe travels! I have my handy dandy ipod on, which help drown out the chatter, screams and questions at least temporarily.

  11. Have fun!!! Love this post and the picture too!!!

  12. The traveling can be horrendous, even if it’s lovely to be with family! We will be driving 6 hours this week (to grandma’s house then 6 hours back) and it will be crazy, but worth it!!

  13. Have a blast!!! Road trips, well, they are what they are. Have a wonderful thanksgiving. πŸ™‚

  14. We don’t do long car trips. Glad to know you’ve survived it.

    Love the handprint turkey!

  15. Hi Stacia – long time no ‘see’! Hope the trip is going well and that Thanksgiving was terrific.

  16. Why are those little turkeys made out of hands so ubiquitous? They just MEAN Thanksgiving, don’t they? Well, anyhow I’m grateful for your hands handling those kids and coloring my day with gratitude.

    Though, am I grateful I’m not in your car smelling the fries? Maybe. I’d tag along at Disney.

  17. This was a really inspiring post – I almost always put myself last when I shouldn’t.

    I think the book that had that kind of effect on me was Dicken’s “Martin Chuzzelwit” about a guy who decided to be cheerful no matter the circumstances. I was traveling from India at the time with all kinds of infections and stomach upset and decided to be cheerful about the whole thing.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.