Haiku Friday

December 3, 2010 at 10:00 am | Posted in Giggles, Haiku Friday | 14 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Three’s (Not) Company

It’s tough to be three.
You’re still so small, so little.
But want to be big.

No. Why? Mine. Why? No.
You punch out these words like a
pint-sized prize-fighter.

You pitch fits. You scream.
You’re a gremlin I sprinkled
Water on. Watch out!

Then come the real tears.
You’re my sweet, sweet boy again,
And you just need Mom.

Did you find the Threes much tougher than the Twos? Care to share your coping strategies? (And did you see Gremlins on sale at Target for $9??)

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You know, I just found all of that tough when the wee ones were too wee to understand themselves and the world around them, yet the world pressed on them from every angle. 2? 3? It was all tender and gemlin-y.

    Tears do wash it away and invite Mommy back in.

    Please allow yourself to sleep as much as is humanly possible. I never slept enough and I think that added to the drama.

  2. “You punch out these words like a
    pint-sized prize-fighter.”

    I love the sound of that. It’s fun to read writing where such careful attention was given to finding the perfect words.

  3. We did not have the terrible twos or the hideous threes, but we had the ferocious fours. You have my sympathy!

  4. Yes! Three is harder!!! Lots of love, limited choices that are acceptable, put the power to make choices in their hands. They’re waffling between big and little, and it’s tough!

  5. Oh, this is good! I need some good alliteration before lunch.
    The twos have been pretty terrific, though they’re taking a turn for the loud and whiny. Last night I complained about the state of our kitchen, and Jack said, “Don’t use the whiny voice, Mom.” Touché!

  6. Oh, the 3’s! I am excited and scared at the prospect that one dat my little girl will be that willfull age!

    Good Luck!

  7. I think 3 is harder than 2 because at 2 they’re still learning. At 3, we don’t quite forgive their transgressions quite so quickly…

  8. 3 was SO much harder than 2 with all of my kiddos! 3 is a tough age for tantrums and attitude, but the sweetness of the quiet times (almost) makes up for it.

  9. Three with my oldest was the worst. So hard. When he was two we thought we were getting off lightly. Fat chance. The only thing that worked for us was to duck for cover!

  10. Three is the most difficult age of all (so far). They are in total turmoil all the time. x

  11. Three was a nightmare, but four was a blessing (maybe in comparison to the nightmare?). I have a theory that all three year olds are bipolar, crying and screaming one minute, loving and laughing the next. As the mom, you set limits and love them through it when they test you to the end of your rope.

    Best of luck 🙂

  12. I just love three. My favourite age. Not quite big, not quite small. SO much going on. It’s diabolical and delightful all at the same time. Good luck!

  13. Having a three-year-old myself, I so love this 🙂

  14. I do feel like you can bargain with a three year-old a little easier than with a two year-old . . . not that I ever bribe or try to make deals with my kids. HA!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.