Rodulph: An Allegory

December 17, 2010 at 5:00 am | Posted in Bun, Giggles, Lollipop | 20 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Rudolph the blond big sister
Had a very pesky bro.
And every time she saw him,
He liked to shout and tell her, “No!”

Giggles, that little brother,
Followed her around with glee.
He never let poor Rudolph
Play by herself, you see.

Then one foggy Christmas Eve,
Rudolph came to say:
“Giggles, if you pick a fight,
Santa won’t visit you tonight!”

Then how Giggles loved her.
And did everything she said.
“Rudolph, you’re the best big sister.
I’ll tease little Bun instead!”

Wait … that’s now how the song goes at your house?

Are you blasting carols to drown out the bickering this holiday? Is one child wielding the power of Santa over another? What happens on December 26??

20 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. LOL! Precious! And it seems so realistic…. 😉

  2. Too cute. There is not yet any Santa wielding at my house, but indeed there is a lot of teasing. The problem is, it is the 2 year old teasing the 4 1/2 year old. Now what do I do with that?

  3. New nightly routine is “Christmas concert” where the boys take turns singing Christmas songs while I sit on the couch and listen and clap. Main problem is that the two year-old just can’t let the four year-old have his shining moment. The little guy has to hop up and dance and join in (without really knowing the words) and “ruin” the older one’s turn: “Mommy, it’s my turn. He won’t let me have MY turn.” And then, we start the song over, waiting for a true solo performance. Six false starts on “Frosty the Snowman” last night.

    Love the song you wrote! Where’s the music video?

  4. My kids are anti-Christmas music this year and it’s bumming me out. N. will still let me sing the “Baby Jesus” ones to her at bedtime, but otherwise, they just want to run around and make each other cry. Santa is holding very little sway over them — I think they know he’s a forgiving old soul.

  5. Love love this. How awesome are you? 🙂

    Also, I adore Christmas music and even though Little Miss must have no memory of her two previous holiday season, she enjoys it too. It’s like she’s known them all her life!

  6. An allegory. Oh, you are so funny. Similar shenanigans here + a pink leotard and a pine marten hide. XO

  7. That’s a good one. The kids and I love Christmas music. My husband? not so much. Oddly, it hasn’t been terrible this year. We haven’t even had to hold the Santa threat over their head’s too much. Of course, we still have one week to go!

  8. Our shelf elf plays Big Brother in this house, which is sort of a slimy trick as a a parent, but hey, you do what you gotta do.

    Always enjoy your Friday poems.

  9. Hilarious! I think Santa would be leaving a note for my big girl if she tried to hold that power over her baby sister. But, I’m not sure she believes any more. Whatever. The 26th we’ll start a calm week. Ahhhh.

  10. My kids have already started bickering and it’s only Saturday night at the start of vacation! Ahhhhh!

  11. Love your poem! There’s a lot of that happening at our place too. Not sure what we will do once the Man in Red has stopped by for his annual visit. What bribery will we use?

  12. You OWNED the cadence of that song, Stacia. Awesome!

  13. You go girl. Now, do you wanna try Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree?

  14. Yes! I am blasting the Christmas carols to drown out the whining. My 5 year old is exhausted from all of our party-hopping, and she’s making us all miserable!

  15. Oh the bickering is driving me NUTS. But I loved your little song…

  16. Love it! One of the upsides to only having one kid is no fighting. The downside is no cute sibling lovefests, of which I am sure there are plenty.

  17. I am soooooo over the Tsunamis and it’s only day 3 of the holidays. Groan. x

  18. This rocked Stacia. I loved it. No bickering – unless you count me and my daughter bickering with one another sometimes.

  19. Hilarious! I’m considering locking both of my kids in their rooms until January. 2012.

  20. Something is in the water. Yesterday when I had a Christmas breakdown, I decided the only way to make myself feel better was to convert my story into a carol. We must be on the very same wavelength, choosing Rudolph. (With toddlers, it’s not hard to understand why.)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.