Joy

December 24, 2010 at 5:00 am | Posted in Family, Giggles, Haiku Friday, Lollipop | 13 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Joy

Joy is glue on each
Finger after making the
Star for the tree top.

Joy is twenty-three
Ornaments steadfastly crammed
on one sagging branch.

Joy is fudge straight from
The pan and sprinkles licked off
the kitchen counter.

Joy is retrieving
Brown boxes from the porch and
Guessing what’s inside.

Joy is piling on
Warm blankets and belting out
Carols at bedtime.

Joy is seeing my
Children believe and finding
That I still do, too.

What does joy mean to you? Wishing you a wonderful Christmas!

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Joy is your weekly Haiku… and finding the special in the every day. I am a very joyful person as a result.

    Joy is also your wonderful writing which I have enjoyed immensely in 2010. I’m looking forward to more of your talent in the new year. x

    • Aw, shucks. Thanks, Maxabella. Hope the tsunamis had a wonderful Christmas!

  2. Just found your blog and you’ve just found yourself a new follower. I love your writing. As a fellow haiku-er I will be back! Happy Christmas to you and yours!

    • Thanks, Sarah. Merry Christmas to you, too!

  3. Terrific. My favorite stanza is 23 ornaments and one sagging branch. So True.

    Have a merry Christmas, filled with more moments of joy.

  4. I’m with Maxabella. Joy is your Friday writing: distilled mommy life I can swallow with ease.

    I love these stars more than I can say. Thank you for this photo. You made my Christmas Eve.

  5. So lovely…
    Merry Christmas! 🙂

  6. I love my Christmas tree all covered with handmade ornaments made with too much glitter (and glue!).

    I love my house scattered with the evidence of the three kids who live here, b/c all too soon they’ll be gone. The years go by so fast, although when you’re smack in the middle of baby-and-toddlerhood, it doesn’t really seem that way.

    I love how your blog posts always make me think! Merry Christmas!

  7. The Christmas tree doesn’t have personality or life until a kid gets through with it! 😉 Merry Christmas! You have so much joy. 😀

  8. Joy is being around loved ones. Happy Holidays to you and yours!

  9. Both girls laughing together. Nothing better,!

    Here’s to all our fluffy bunnies – Happy new year to you too!

  10. Almost nothing makes me happier than belting out carols. I only wish each season had a such a great set of songs. Looking forward to another year of your clever haiku!

  11. This year Christmas for me was more joyful than it has been in so long. It was the simplicity of it, and watching through my children’s eyes.

    All the best to you my friend!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.