Measuring a Year

January 10, 2011 at 1:00 am | Posted in Bun, Family, Friends, Giggles, Lollipop, The Pups | 24 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

207 blog posts, happy, sad, and crazy.
207 posts and comments so dear.
207 blog posts, happy, sad, and crazy.
How do you measure, measure a year?

In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights.
In cups of coffee.
In inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife.

In pancakes, in blankets, in strikeouts.
In sandy flip-flops.
In candy, in dance moves, in letters, in lies.

In quick pees, in snowflakes, in toothpaste.
In newborn smiles.
In Lysol, in Star Wars, in stickers, in spoons.

In sequins, in race cars, in Barbies.
In belly buttons.
In icing, in footprints, in flowers, in love.

In 207 blog posts,
Happy, sad, and crazy.
That’s how I measure
A year in my life.

How do you measure a year in your life? How does your blog help?

+++

A year ago, I sent my first Fluffy Bunnies post into the ether. Thanks for reading, commenting, and offering your friendship. Through all of you, I’ve found strength I didn’t know I had and comfort I didn’t know I needed. What a year!

+++

Adapted from “Seasons of Love” from the musical Rent by Jonathan Larson.

24 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. When I started my blog, it was more for my kids and family than for me (or so I thought). Within a year, it was an outlet for me and within two years I was meeting friends in real life that I had blogged with for months. Blogging has for me, like you, filled a void I didn’t know I had.

    BTW, I adore that photo of you and your family!

  2. Happy anniversary Stacia! I, for one, am so grateful to have found you and your happy, sad, crazy life in this space. Not only have your words endeared me to your writing but to you, my dear friend, as well. Cheers to you for creating such a warm, funny, wonderful space where all of us can congregate as if sitting by a cozy fire for coffee (or tea). If only we can make it happen in real life…

  3. Happy one year! That’s a big landmark–toasting to you with (sigh) Pellegrino and lime today!

  4. Happy Anniversary!!! I can’t wait to read about all your adventures during this coming year!

  5. 207 posts! Holy moly girl!
    So glad to have found you and your wonderful words and creative style.
    Keep on rockin’ it. Especially in Romania (do you say that word in your head with a dark, Slavic accent?)

  6. Happy anniversary! All of your posts are gifts. Thank you.

  7. Happy Anniversary, Stacia! Looking forward to more happy, crazy (but hopefully not too many sad) posts in 2011!

  8. Congratulations on your one year anniversary! I look forward to connecting and commiserating in the years ahead, whatever happy, sad, and crazy places those may take us.

    xo

  9. Happy Anniversary!

  10. Happy first blogoversary. I think I measure the years in kids’ birthdays. I often forget when things happen except that it was 3 months or 5 weeks from a birthday party. Pretty pathetic considering this awesome post.

  11. I love this post! Happy one year! And so much of what I love about this post is also that beautiful picture.

    For months now, I think I measure each day. The getting through it, which feels like a small victory.

    As for the coffee, I’ve lost count. 🙂

  12. So wonderful all of it!! Here’s to so many more…and following along the whole way.

  13. “Through all of you, I’ve found strength I didn’t know I had and comfort I didn’t know I needed.” — What wonderful words to capture what blogging means to so many of us! Once again, you’ve chosen just the right ones.

    I plan to stick with you for the next 207 posts, okay? Can’t shake me even if you try. You are a fantastic writer, mother, and friend. Here’s hoping that one day we’re eating out of the same peanut butter m&m bag and clinking glasses of Dr.Pepper (or dinner with wine or margaritas or something would also be grand).

  14. Happy Blogoversary! Looking forward to many more years of reading and commenting.

  15. Beautiful post!

  16. I sang my way through it. Lovely. I love the song. Love this way of measuring your life. It truly is the moments, isn’t it?

  17. What a perfect way to celebrate one year–with an adaptation of a Rent song! (I actually recognized it and hummed the tune while reading.)

    Happy one year, Stacia! So glad to have found your words!

  18. Happy anniversary! Aren’t you glad that you took the leap and sent those words off?

    I’m happy you did!

    And it sounds as if the next year will be full of plenty of new adventures. Can’t wait to read all about them!

  19. very cute! I’m glad you started your blog. I’m glad I started my blog. It would have been a very different year for me otherwise. Happy Anniversary! 🙂

  20. Congratulations, Stacia! You’ve got a wonderful blog with beautiful, lyrical writing, and now you’ve got an exciting chapter ahead in your life to further chronicle. Best wishes for another successful year of blogging!

  21. This post is a great celebration of a year in the life of one of my fave blogs. Your writing is truly special, Stacia and I love coming here to see what you’re up to. Haiku Friday is a little joy every single week. Cheers to another 207 marvellous posts, lovely you. x

  22. Love that song and love the way you’ve used it to measure YOUR year. I am always so moved by the way the everyday moves us.

  23. A year already?!? Wow. Congrats on your first blogaversary! I’m so glad you’re here!

  24. Happy “late” anniversary!!! I have really enjoyed your blog over the past year. I just finally got caught up. Got behind after having Madelyn. Too sleep deprived to read anything for a while 🙂 I LOVE the family picture in this post! What a great picture of the 5 of you!!! Good luck with the big move!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.