My Birthday Wish

March 7, 2011 at 12:01 am | Posted in Family, Me | 23 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

It’s almost my birthday. My real one, that is.

My husband and my mom Lots of people have been asking me what I would like. And I can’t think of a single thing. (Besides the buttercream frosting on my cake.)

Well, that’s not exactly true.

Buttercream frosting and one other thing. One tiny thing I’ve been dreaming of. But I can’t even think about it without the guilt pin-balling around in my brain.

I want one night. By myself. In a hotel.

There, I said it.

I want a night to sit. In silence.

I want someone to make me dinner, bring it to me, and clean it up.

I want a meal without ketchup.

I want the only pair of shoes I’m in charge of finding to be mine.

I want to liiiiiiiiinger in the shower.

I want to watch E!

I want to get a drink of water at 3 a.m. For myself.

I want to savor M&Ms instead of sneak them.

I want to use towels and sheets I don’t have to wash, dry, fluff, fluff again, fold, and put away.

I want to sleep all night long.

I want to wake up when I feel like it. (And I might not feel like it until wellllllllll after the sun comes up.)

Most of all, I want to leave that hotel room feeling refreshed. And ready.

Ready to pee at lightning speed in front of three tiny people. Ready to fill breakfast orders and bus tables. Ready to arbitrate disputes over glitter stickers and who gets to close the garage door. Ready to search for misplaced marker lids. Ready to check the sandbox for cat poop, the kids’ shoes for dog poop, and the toilets for I-forgot-to-flush poop. Ready to ignore the piles of Cheerios and acorns in the backseat of my car. Ready to cook, pour, feed, fold, type, and hug. One-handed.

I want to leave that hotel room ready to rush right back into the chaos of my life, the chaos that I love. Where every day feels like my birthday. And every wish has already come true.

What’s the strangest thing you ever wanted for your birthday? What would you do with a night all to yourself? And what’s your best one-handed mothering skill?

23 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This is not a strange request at all! You must ask for it and by golly I hope you get it!!! x

  2. I might steal this post when my birthday rolls around in May. Sounds like bliss!

  3. oh yes, yes, yes please!! The last time I had a night alone in a hotel was on a work trip when I was pregnant….king size bed, gorgeous fluffy towels, someone to do everything, gourmet meals and best of all, not only was I not paying for it, but I was getting PAID to stay there!!!! BLISS…little did I know, back then. Hope you get your wish x

  4. The last thing I really wanted was this Christmas — a pair of expensive ($50) LL Bean slippers. An indulgence, but useful for an at-home mom who wants to stay warm during Buffalo winters! Other than that, I agree — I find that I want for very little.

    That said, I agree wholeheartedly with the longing for quiet, me time. It’s a start that you & hubby take turns going on runs, yes? 🙂

  5. This is absolutely not a strange wish at all! It’s usually exactly what I want, too! And I never get it…hubs always tags along, and while that’s nice too, it’s not the same.

    Happy almost Birthday. I hope your wish comes true.

  6. I LOVE the poop sentence! You had me snorting coffee out of my nose on that one (I have been there, done that more times than I can count).

    This is a wonderful birthday wish. I hope not only that you get your wish, but that you’re able to enjoy it SANS mommy-guilt. You deserve one night, for sure!

  7. I think it’s a wonderful idea! My sister in law requested (and received) the same thing for Christmas a couple of years ago. Find a hotel with a spa and get a massage too!!
    I’m really, really, really wanting to take Munchie to visit my brother and his family this summer. I’m thinking about asking for donations to my travel fund for my birthday, but I can’t decide if that’s tacky. (I’d be asking my parents, my grandma, and Hubs… and they always ask what I want/need… what do you think?)

  8. That sounds amazing.

  9. Wish we were truly neighbors, I’d happily take on a few extra kids to let you have a night. (Heck, I’m waking all the time anyway, why not? Damn growth spurt.) I really really love that idea. But, what would you eat without ketchup? And do you remember how to savor M&Ms?

  10. I don’t think this is strange at all, and I don’t think you should feel guilty. After all, almost every full-time job in the world comes with paid time off! one night of “indulgence” isn’t so much to ask. It’s funny, because a couple of Mother’s Days I have had, I have asked for time to myself (and dinner at a restaurant with my family). Of course, other mothers days I have hosted brunch for other mothers!

    My strangest wish for my birthday: for my husband to remember on his own just once. 😉 now I have the kids remind him. Which they love, because birthdays mean cake!

  11. Yes. Yes. Yes. I would love a night to myself for myself to do whatever I please. Sleeping in and room service without sharing it with anyone. Happy Early Birthday! I so hope you get at least a few hours to yourself!

  12. You are awesome. I bet your sweet husband would give this to you in a heartbeat.

  13. My birthday is next week — let’s get adjoining rooms!

    • I’m SO in! Let’s meet half way … Perhaps there’s a Hampton Inn (free breakfast!) in Springfield??

  14. Without a doubt, my best one-handed mothering ability is flipping pancakes. I rock at pancakes. 🙂 Happy birthday in advance!

  15. My goodness lady, you deserve that. All of it!! Go for it. A night to yourself would be heaven.

  16. Hey, that doesn’t sound too hard. I hope you get it.

    And happy birthday.

  17. You deserve MORE than one night of this. Sounds blissful, but I particularly love how you mentioned that at home, in spite of the domestic chores and wars, it is the place where all your dreams came true. Even then, an escape is good for our sanity.

    Speaking of, that’s exactly what we’re doing this weekend. Our staycation at a luxury hotel in the city, except I won’t be by myself. I’m OK with that too as long as we get our room and spa services AND get to sleep in. Oh that’s so huge, the sleeping in. I’ll pick that over the massage any day. I can’t wait!!!

  18. i’ve asked for this gift before! and gotten it.

  19. I hope you get it… and if you do, let me know what it’s like? 😉

  20. It makes all the sense in the world for you to want a night to yourself in a hotel! And don’t feel guilty. Even emergency workers, firefighters, cardiac surgeons, country leaders, etc. get days off. We need that recharging time to not go completely nutty, and to be even better mothers and wives. I do hope you get it! As for me, I’ve also fantasized alot about having a night or two away in a hotel somewhere. But so far I have only fantasized, so the don’t-feel-guilty thing is easier said than done! 😉

  21. Okay, I know this is your birthday and the wish is to be alone … but can I come? Maybe I’ll get the hotel room next to yours and we’ll order room service and eat and then retreat to our separate rooms? Girl talk is always fun!

  22. It was JUST my birthday – do we share a birthday month? And what you crave, is also what I oh so badly desire. Time ALONE. In quiet. In me. Doesnt’ seem like so much to ask i don’t think. I hope you get it. One night. Or two. If you ask, you shall receive – I’m sure!

    Happy birthday!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.