Wishing Well

March 14, 2011 at 12:01 am | Posted in Family, Me | 20 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I got my wish:

It was bliss.

I didn’t say a word. All. Night. Long.

I ate dinner in bed (and more M&Ms than I’m going to admit):

I texted home to Super Daddy, who bathed all three kids in one tub.

I devoured a DC Cupcakes marathon. (Hello, TLC, I have missed you!)

I laughed with glee at the perfectly folded, perfectly fluffy, perfectly white towels:

I got my Google Reader down to zero. Zero.

I slept right through the free breakfast.

I stopped on the way home and got my toes done in “Grape Lakes”:

But most of all? I was giddy. To get home. To this:

And this:

And this:

How would you spend one night all to yourself? Would you choose extra sleep over free breakfast? And what’s your favorite TLC show?

20 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m drooling over your evening away… looks so lovely! I would spend an evening to myself probably similarly🙂
    The coming home is always bliss too!

  2. Yay to solo nights! Clearly I didn’t pick sleeping over breakfast as room service woke me up, BUT I plead pregnant. Baby’s gotta eat😉

    Sounds like an amazing night, and SUPER DADDY is right! High five to that man in your life. What a gem. Although I suspect you absolutely, unequivocally deserve this. Here’s to a fresh week ahead my friend. Parallel(ish) universe indeed!

  3. I’m so happy for you! Props to your hubs for delivering exactly what you wanted. You deserved every minute.

  4. Hip-hip-hooray!!!🙂

  5. I would buy and read a book — any book, preferably brain candy like Charlaine Harris. I would probably opt for that second glass of wine. I would take free breakfast over sleeping in (although I think 8 a.m. IS sleeping in these days). AND I, too, would find a way to fit in a pedicure before coming home to my lovelies.

    • It’s funny: I took a book but never opened it. Very uncharacteristic for me. I suppose I was too enthralled with the guiltier pleasures of myriad M&Ms and free cable. And I woke up at 7:30 and made myself (I didn’t have to work very hard) go back to sleep. =>

  6. Awesome!

  7. Love that you took off all your “roles” — wife (ring), chauffeur (car keys), nutritionist (m&ms), mom (TLC). Very nice!

  8. Hmmm. Not sure I could sleep through the free breakfast, but the rest sounds just perfect!

  9. Awesome! And wonderful to come home to bliss!

  10. I always appreciate my kids so much more when I get nice breaks like that. Good for you!🙂 looks amazing!

  11. What an amazing gift from your husband. I likely would have done the same thing as you — sounds so very nice. Glad you enjoyed all aspects, especially the coming home.

  12. So happy for you! (jealous, but happy!!) Sounds like heaven. I would try to read, but probably would get enthralled in junkier stuff as you did. I would also get my toenails done, because isn’t life just always happier when they are a color?

  13. Stacia, I am SO happy for you! What a wonderful birthday gift, and one only a busy mom would truly “get”.

    Looks like it’s going to be a good year, with such a great start as that!

  14. AAAWWWWWWW! And Happy Birthday. Yay Super Daddy (and Super Husband).

  15. Definitely breakfast in bed. And a marathon of Dexter or Criminal Minds or Weeds or some other slutty, dirty show that I can’t watch around the kids.

    Glad for you!

  16. I’m high-fiving you right now! Way to go girl!

  17. Wow, this sounds amazing. Your husband truly is a keeper.

  18. Oh, you did it!! Without guilt, I hope? I didn’t detect any guilt in your post🙂 And your husband has gotten to be an old pro. No insignificant feat, keeping 3 little ones clean and happy! So glad you had the escape!

  19. Oh, GOOD FOR YOU! I think I’d do something similar — eat, drink a fountain drink, have some chocolate, and switch between television and reading a wonderful cozy kind of novel.

    I managed a few twenty minutes stints of reading in the sun when we were in Florida. I’ll take what I can get for now! Maybe on my next birthday, I can get 24 hours by myself!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.