Haiku Friday

March 18, 2011 at 12:02 am | Posted in Haiku Friday, Lollipop | 13 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Saying Grace

We sit down to eat,
My mom, my daughter, and me,
At a local place.

A TV serves up
Headlines like chips and salsa.
It’s hard to resist.

An old woman in
A mask
waits for a bus to
Somewhere, anywhere.

Her eyes are fierce as
White-suited strangers run tests.
Has she been exposed?

Her back to the screen,
My daughter sways in her chair
To hear her dress swish.

Wearing bunny ears,
She nibbles on tortillas
And her bendy straw.

They found the baby
Alive after four days, still
In her pajamas.

Her parents despaired,
Certain she’d been swept away.
One small miracle.

We share a cookie
And she asks for another,
Just the center part.

Her innocence, as
Soft and sweet as the icing
She loves, crushes me.

15,000 lost.
Still, they search: for life, for time,
For the reason why.

Every degree more
And hope’s half-life decreases.
How long till it’s gone?

When she smiles, I grieve
For mothers and daughters now
Gone. I grab her hand.

I watch the screen and
Look for words to say we’re safe.
But I can’t find them.

How do faraway tragedies become part of your everyday life? How do you choose what to tell your children about your feelings (and theirs)? And how do you make sense of such loss?

+++

Help Japan:
1. “Like” the “Dog Bless You” Facebook page, and $1 will go to support rescue dogs involved in relief efforts.

2. Text REDCROSS to 90999 to donate $10 to the American Red Cross’s relief efforts.

3. Fold and upload a paper crane to send your wishes for relief and healing.

4. Spread the word about Google’s Japan People Finder.

5. Click over for more High-Tech Ways to Help.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s hard to know how much to share with children. Sometimes I want my kids to be as oblivious to the “real” world around them for as long as they can. They’ll find out soon enough. At the same time, developing a sense of empathy in our kids is really important to my wife and me as parents.

  2. I love this. I wrote about the baby in my six word Friday. So many stories filled with sorrow and so many emerge with inspiration. Nice post.

  3. I love the detail of your daughter wiggling in her chair to hear her dress swish.

    It’s almost too much to bear, isn’t it?

  4. Stacia, thank you so much for writing this. It is beautiful and heartfelt. I’ve been walking a fine line with my 7 y/o. He definitely needs to know, given that this is one of his home countries, but I don’t know how much to show him. But he’s contributing with an origami project and I am having him contribute to a care package for my friend’s daughter there. We do it little by little, according to age and readiness. When they’re so little at 2, 3 or 4, it might be better to let them stay in their world of security and goodness. It is the only years in their lives that they can do that.

  5. A profound post, my friend. And one with a great cause. Thank you for providing these avenues in aid of the people of Japan. Now if you don’t mind, please excuse me, as I have some high tech helping to do.

  6. Beautiful Stacia, just beautiful! Combining the crisp details of your here and now and the immediacy of such different experiences.

  7. Lovely post Stacia. Thanks for the links. Japan and its people have been on my mind.

  8. So sad and overwhelming. Unimaginable. Beautiful job contrasting the comfort of our lives right now with the unimaginable horror over there. thanks for the links😦

  9. This is beautiful, Stacia. The images of Lollipop and from Japan. Both heartrending in their own ways.

  10. Beautiful, Stacia. Heartbreaking. Uplifting.

    Why? Why? Why?

    I do not know.

    x

  11. We saw the footage as we looked out onto the calm, peaceful Atlantic Ocean and the beautiful sunshine. I don’t have any answers and haven’t said anything to my kids. So hard to know what to do other than pray, to appreciate one’s own life exactly as it is, and to give as generously as you can.

    Your haikus never disappoint. Beautiful.

  12. This line: “And hope’s half-life decreases” slayed me. Your words are a gift.

  13. Grace. This is what Grace feels like to me. Prayers that notice.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.