Haiku Friday

May 20, 2011 at 12:01 am | Posted in Family, Haiku Friday | 26 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Mom’s the Word

She mows the lawn and
Crochets and takes care of her
Mom and likes sci-fi.

She taught me to do
Laundry and make grilled cheese and
Write a thank-you note.

She didn’t yell when
I came home from school with a
Tattoo and red hair.

She reads e-books, writes
On my wall, uses Hulu,
And plays Angry Birds.

She has rocked each of
My children to sleep, humming
A quiet tune for hours.

She always knows where
To find things like lemon juice
At the grocery store.

She’s smart, strong, and kind.
It’s her birthday, and I want
Her to know she’s loved.

Happy early Birthday, Mom! Leave her some comment love, okay?

26 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Happy birthday, Fluffy Mum! One thing I know about you is that you have a very wise, very kind and very talented daughter called Stacia!

    And, Stacia, you got a tattoo at school!? What kind of a school were you at!? Just joking, I know😉 x

  2. Dear Fluffy’s Mom,

    Happy, happy birthday! You sound sort of amazing. Like your daughter…who just made me cry at 4:18 in the morning.

  3. I’m so glad you were born! Yay to your mom and all of her awesomeness. Moms are the bestest!

    Happy birthday Fluffy Bunny Mom!

  4. Happy Birthday, Stacia’s mom. Geez, moms are the best aren’t they? My mom was always right, which used to bug the heck out of me. But now I’m the mom, and I plan to take after her!

  5. I am so thankful to have Fluffy’s mom as my partner, best friend and wife. She is wonderful. Happy birrhday.
    Pawpaw

  6. i like that she plays angry birds! haha..Happy Birthday to your mum

  7. Happy Birthday, Stacia’s momma! You done good.

  8. Happy birthday mom-in-law! =) Nobody believes me when I tell them what a great relationship I have with my mother-in-law, but it’s true – she’s good people. I tell them that our shared love of science fiction counts for a lot. =D

  9. rocked your children to sleep…that one got me. So special and sweet.

  10. And Fluffy’s Mom is one of the best friends a person can have. She’s fun, interesting, inspiring, positive (especially when you need it) and easy to love. It’s no wonder she has such a great daughter! Happy Birthday, my friend.

  11. Aw, that was lovely!! Happy Birthday to your mom!!! She sounds pretty “hip”🙂

  12. Happy Birthday, Mary!! You look just like Stacia in the picture. I can just picture you humming lullabies to your grandkiddos as you rock them to sleep. They are so lucky to have you as a grandma!

  13. Happy Birthday Fluffy Bunny Mom! Nice tribute Stacia, I’m sure she feels LOVED.

  14. Happy Birthday to your mom!!!
    And she sounds kinda like mine….

  15. AWWWW! Happy birthday Fluff Mom! Kudos for not reacting to red hair and a tatoo…: )

  16. Happy Birthday Stacia’s mom! Stacia wrote a lovely tribute to you and you sound amazing. I hope you enjoy your birthday and that you share many many more with your family!!!!

  17. Happy BIrthday, Fluffy Mom! Whatever would we do without our moms? My oldest asked me last night if my mom still took care of me. I answered without hesitation: Yes. Yes, she does.

  18. Happy birthday to your mom, Stacia. It’s no wonder that you are such a loving, generous, and patient mama – it seems you had a wonderful role model to follow.

    (Laundry, grilled cheese, and thank you notes are three essential parts of my life too. Surprised?)

  19. Aw, Happy Birthday to your Mom! She sounds pretty awesome.

  20. Happy Birthday to the MOM of one of my all time favorite students!!! You did good, Mom!!!!! Stacia’s 7th grade teacher, Ms. Young

    • Aw! Thank you, from both of us! =>

  21. She sounds like one of the coolest moms around! Mowing the lawn and playing angry birds and rocking the babes to sleep? Fantastic mom!

  22. Happy Birthday to your Momma Stacia! Grilled cheese…. important skill to learn. Yes, indeed.

    • I know, right? What stove temperature is best? How thick should the cheese be? Mayonnaise or no mayonnaise? The margin for mistakes is huge. =>

  23. Awww…your mom sounds so cool, so awesome. Just like you. Now we know where you get your qualities🙂

    Happy belated birthday, Stacia’s mama!

  24. Aw – your mom sounds like the kind of mom I hope to be. I hope she had a fabulous birthday!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.