Everything but the Kitchen Sink

June 6, 2011 at 5:33 pm | Posted in Transylvania | 25 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

We are here. In Romania. We are over the jet lag. Mostly. We have eaten our weight in fresh baguettes, tasted some delicious Romanian cookies, and bought some seriously gnarly candy at the mall. We have walked to two playgrounds and chased many, many pigeons. And we spent a very long afternoon at the grocery store, where packaging is translated into as many as 12 languages. None of those languages is English. If only I spoke Croatian … or Polish … or Lithuanian.

We are slowly getting used to no air conditioning, the tiniest kitchen sink you’ve ever seen, and crinkly line-dried clothes. And our shipped belongings arrived today. (You’ll be happy to know the most important items — the stuffed animals and tea party set — made it unscathed.) We also now have sheets for our beds, and we no longer have to share one towel. Life is … good.

Life is good but overwhelming. Exciting but a little scary. Easier and harder, all at the same time. I’m still processing everything, and every day there’s So. Much. More. to process. I’m not ready to post eloquent stuff about our journey here or the first few days of our adventure. I just need a little more time to get settled in our house and in my mind.

In the meantime, I’ve come up with a way to capture each day of our life here, if nothing else to jog my memory as the newness begins to fade and the days start to run together. I’m posting a photo — just one — every day. That means I actually have to take pictures every day. I have to pack up the kids and go somewhere because no one wants to see 365 pictures of my tiny kitchen sink (did I mention it was tiny?). It means I have to follow my rules.

I hope you’ll visit us, here and there. I hope you’ll laugh with us and cry, too, for I’m sure there will be tears. And I hope you’ll find washing dishes a teeny bit less tedious in your big, deep, glorious sink.

What’s your favorite “foreign” food? Any tips on taking the crinkle out of line-dried clothes? And please, please, tell me: How big is your kitchen sink?

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

25 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is a dinky-ass sink, girl. An excuse for surviving on sandwiches? Glad you made it in one piece!

  2. My sink, sadly, isn’t much deeper than that, but I at least have a double sink! I see a washtub in your future🙂

    And even more sad is that my only tip for taking the crinkle out of line-dried clothes is to…throw them in the dryer….huh. Not so helpful, eh?!

    But I’m so glad you’re there and settled (ish) and doing 365photos!

    • I totally meant to mention that your 365 blog was my inspiration … and then I totally forgot. Guess I’m not as over the jet lag as I thought! =>

  3. My mind is just boggled by the no English labels!

  4. I’m probably way behind, but why did you move to Romania? I like your tiny sink. It reminds me of my play sink when I was little.

  5. So glad you made it all in one piece🙂

    My kitchen sink is actually pretty big, but full of dirty dishes, so I am envious of your stack of clean ones!

    Can’t wait to share in this adventure with you!

  6. I love everything Thai. When I was living in Japan, I loved Indian food, seeing as it was the foreign food that could be procured virtually anywhere.

    Glad you made it safe and sound!

  7. Glad you are there safe and sound – Posting and immediately showing us tidbits of your life in Romania. The sink is small, but a great excuse to get Romanian takeout?

    I recommend Indian food. Curry masala taste good in any country.

  8. Welcome to Romania! I love the photo a day project! I heard you should take pictures of anything that seems unusual when you arrive because after a while it may not seem unusual. That said, I still don’t like my tiny sink and find plenty of things strange–after a year and a half! But I have also found many, many wonderful things about Romania, and I hope you will, too. Noroc!

  9. I think we have the same sink…🙂
    Have been thinking of you guys, what an adventure!! I can’t wait to see the pictures!

  10. Crepes!

  11. Stacia, you are such a brave soul. I can’t imagine having to live in a strange country, much less with 3 small children. But then, you’re much younger than me; and what a wonderful experience for you, Josh and the kiddos. I’ll be praying for you.

    Brenda

  12. Glad you are finally settling in! Yeah, that’s a pretty tiny sink, but I like your green and blue dishes, if that helps. Can’t wait to see all of your photos. What do the kids have to say about their new environment?

  13. My kitchen sink is also quite small; it’s the kind they install in mobile homes. This, in a full-size kitchen, mind you. I cannot wait until we’ve saved enough to complete redo our kitchen. CAN’T WAIT.

    I’m so excited for your family! I know that living abroad can’t be easy, but what stories you will have to tell. And your kids will be richer for it, too. Can’t wait to read and see more.

  14. Glad you made it safe and sound!
    Sorry about the sink, but I’m happy to hear that there are 2 playgrounds within walking distance!
    I’ve used Downy Wrinkle Release to get rid of wrinkles. I’m not able to translate that to Romanian though…🙂

  15. Hey, that looks just like the sink we had in Malaysia🙂 Yeah, we’re pretty spoiled here in the States, where everything is 2 to 4 times the size of everything around the world. I used to balk at the size of the watermelons here!

    Anyway, I finally got caught up with all your posts and pictures from your Romanian adventure. I can only imagine what your plane ride must have been. Wow. Thank goodness for kids old enough to be entertained by TV. Seriously.

    And farmers’ market produc is just the best. Tis the season here as well, so I think it’s time I hit one up. Forget the whole resting business. I got some delicious salads to make. YUM!

    P.S. So glad you guys made it safely there. Can’t wait to see all the pictures of your 365 days there🙂

  16. I’m hear, laughing, crying and cheering you on!

  17. That should have saikd here. Darn it! I’m here.🙂

  18. Having been in your shoes (foreign country, small children, strange things at every turn)…. I completely appreciate your post. So looking forward following your journey. Embrace it. You will have such a incredible perspective of this crazy world!

  19. I have a triple sink. I have drawers that glide silently, and TONS of them. I’m betting you have very few drawers. Kitchens are small there. I’m grateful to you today for reminding me of my riches. I have a multitude of cloth napkins. And kitchen towels. A bazillion of those things. I dry these in the dryer and they come out soft and non-crinkly. I’m so grateful for you, today, my friend. You have shown me what i have right here in my big kitchen with this luscious sink that I used to hate to clean. Now I will smile and think of you.

  20. So glad you made it through the flight and have arrived. I so look forward to hearing how the family is adjusting.
    With Love,
    Rachel

  21. I’m so glad you made it!!! I will say it again…you are brave!!!

  22. That is one small sink.🙂

  23. My kitchen sink in our new apartment is TINY also! I can’t even rinse a small pot in it. I thought I was crazy for complaining about it when people asked how we were settling in. It’s not Romania…but it is Alabama. At least my food labels are in English. Good Luck!

  24. May teach you some Polish if you wish😉


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.