Photo Tuesday

June 7, 2011 at 11:31 pm | Posted in Lollipop, Photo Tuesday, Transylvania | 21 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

“The temple bell stops but I still hear the sound coming out of the flowers.” — Basho

We’ve been in Romania (our new home for the next year) for four days, and there are many signs of the lingering poverty of Communism. But there are also flowers. Everywhere. In the most unexpected places. To me, they are symbols of fortitude. And hope.

Do you find flowers where you least expect them? What do they represent to you? And aren’t they just a little bit prettier in a foreign country?

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

+++

See more flowers at Beth’s on Thursday.

Photobucket

21 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Love the pics Stacia. I am so glad that four days in, your Photo Tuesday revolves around your first impressions of Romania. I am always struck by flowers in a foreign country. Your piece reminded me of my days in India during the summer. We would walk and see signs of poverty on some streets and then out of nowhere a vendor would be selling flowers and spin toys for little kids. Hope you and the family is adjusting well.

  2. that’s what I love about you Stacia – you see them. Others wouldn’t. Good luck … with everything.

  3. Oh – what an adventure this is! (And there[s something very lovely about flowers growing in window boxes – especially in Europe!)

  4. So exciting to be joining you on this journey, Stacia. I also noticed the way that Eastern Europeans brightened the spaces around them with flowers and good cheer. I think it makes a world of difference. x

  5. The sun in Romania is brighter than I imagined🙂

  6. Lovely pictures!

  7. Hello, Romania! Hope you’re adjusting well and enjoying yourselves.

  8. Great pics. We have flowers everywhere right now, too, at least according to the kids: dandelions. They have a great perspective.

  9. I love the flowers in the windows!

  10. I like the 4th shot SO much! Good luck in your new home!

  11. Romania?!?!? Can I visit? It looks lovely in your pictures. Enjoy all the new culture.

  12. Nice collection of creative flower photos.

  13. Great pictures!

  14. Those are some fantastic flower photos- How wonderful! Your post made me smile!

  15. I think that everything is more beautiful in a foreign country. Maybe it is the flowers. That when I am in a foreign country, I have the time to see them, where so often at home I don’t. Whatever the case, they are certainly beautiful there.

  16. What great pictures! I love how you found flowers in them all, even if they were super obvious!

    • Sorry even if they *weren’t super obvious🙂

  17. Great photos. I love that first one.

  18. I love your take on flowers, so cute!! they are all so creative!

  19. I really love the red flowers. Gorgeous.

    • also sorry I left wrong url for my you capture.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.