Haiku Friday

June 10, 2011 at 11:44 pm | Posted in Transylvania | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Shock it to Me

What I’ve learned this week:
Romania has Snickers.
And fresh, fresh produce.

If you pantomime
“Fly swatter” to the store clerk,
He’ll point you to tongs.

Take a shower and
You’ll see why all the bathroom
Floors have drains: things leak.

Doing yard work in
Speedos is apparently
A whole lot of fun.

Bike helmets, seat belts,
Car seats, shopping cart buckles:
As rare as ketchup.

You’ll get by all right
If you say please and thanks … and
Have a cute baby.

Have you ever experienced culture shock? What seemed normal somewhere else that wasn’t normal to you? How do you β€” and your kids β€” adapt to new situations?

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Is it weird that I want to go to Romania now?πŸ˜›
    Probably the biggest culture shock I ever had was when I went to Nairobi to teach children from a slum. I stepped out of the bus and hundreds of little kids swarmed me and started to fight over me and (strangely enough) lick me. Definitely, one of the best experiences of my lifeπŸ™‚ The culture in Africa is just so different and rich.

  2. Ha ha ha!!! Speedos!!!! chuckle!

    Culture shock has got to be an adventure all its own.

  3. I need to know what that road sign is announcing. Racing professionals crossing? Watch for asshole men with briefcases? Watch for short skirts and shorts?

    Loving your snapshots of Romanian life!

  4. HA! I’m loving the fly Swatter visual. I look forward to reading more. Children crossing sign looks so much better than the blue one we have here in Canada.

  5. Love these vignettes from your Romanian adventure! Thank goodness for Snickers ( my fav candy bar). The road sign is certainly interesting. Look forward to hearing more.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.