Short Stuff

June 14, 2011 at 5:35 pm | Posted in Lollipop, Transylvania | 8 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Enjoying our first Romanian thunderstorm

Ever since we decided we’d say yes to this adventure, we’ve talked about how much the kids will remember about it as they get older. They are a big part of the reason I want to document it as thoroughly as I can. Over breakfast this morning — fresh-baked bread (from the grocery store, not my oven) with strawberry jam and cherries straight from the tree — I asked Lollipop a few questions about our time here so far. Here’s what she had to say:

What’s the best thing about Romania?
We went to a new park in our neighborhood. It’s got slides and swings, and sometimes I bring my stuffed animals to push in the swings. Sometimes I even like to go on the see-saws. And sometimes you can go on this really, really fast thing that’s shaped like a circle and you sit on it and you spin. We like to pretend we’re in outer space.

What did you think of the grocery store?
I liked helping find the vegetables, like celery or tomatoes or carrots. I wanted Skittles for a treat, but Mommy said no. Instead we got some cake. And I picked out a pot for our new flower. We put it on our porch.

Have you met some new friends?
Yes! We went over to their house the other day and had so much fun playing. The two sisters even let me wear one of their princess dresses that had a beautiful white flower on it. They gave us presents! I got a kitchen set, and my brother got some Legos. My baby brother got a race car. Their mommy made us a big lunch. My favorite was the salami. I tried some broccoli pizza [quiche], too. The older sister helped me make a pink necklace. I picked out some beads from a big bowl shaped like a heart, and she had some pink string, too. She helped me put the beads on it. Then their daddy hung cherries on our ears like earrings!

What did you think of our first road trip?
We went to the zoo, and I saw monkeys walking upside down! And guess what else I saw? With Daddy I saw some fish and an iguana and some snakes. Those snakes were really long. We saw some turtles, too. We went on a very large playground and a carousel. And guess what else? We had lots of fun, like when we had fruit snacks for a special treat.

Can you speak any Romanian?
I can say ce mai faceţi [chay my fah-chech-ee], but I can’t remember what it means [how are you?]. Sometimes I watch “Wonder Pets” and a show about seals. They’re in Romanian. I can’t understand what they’re saying, but they’re so funny!

How is Romania different from home?
Well, in the daytime here, it’s night over there. And when we’re awake, they’re sleeping.

Are you excited about starting preschool next week?
Well, do you know if they wear princess dresses to Romanian school? And could you make me some Romanian bunny ears so I can wear them? I hope they have yo-yos. We saw a girl playing with a yo-yo at the park, and it looked like so much fun.

What would you do with your American friends if they came to visit?
I would show them my new markers and new Cheerios [the Honey Nut kind, which we don’t buy at home]. I have lots of princess dresses to dress up in, if they want. Or if they want, they can have a banana. When the sun comes through the kitchen windows, we can do a hand-shadow puppet show. I can make turkeys with my hands. Or we could go to the playground. We walk to it, and there are green cherries with stems all over the ground.

+++

What struck me most as I typed up her answers was the sameness of her experiences. When I reflect on our days here so far, I notice the differences: the architecture, the appliances, the driving. When she reflects, she notes the similarities: the playgrounds, the bananas, the princess dresses. Why is that? How is your children’s perspective surprisingly different from your own?

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think the sameness gives her comfort. Kids thrive on routine. I think the similarities are what make it easier to stay. I think I’ve done it myself when moving within the same country.

  2. 🙂 Sweet. Hope she has a good first day!

  3. Sweet and I think the familiar always comforts our children🙂

  4. So so sweet!!! I laughed out loud when she offered potential guests a banana. This is priceless!

  5. The first time we traveled to England with The Bunny, then 3 months old, her aunt told me, “Home for her will be wherever you and Phil are.” Even though she is now 6 and has more reliable long-term memory recall, that bit of wisdom still holds true. Home is familiar.

  6. You’ll have to let me know if they do wear princess dresses to Romanian preschool.
    Sounds to me like you’ve made the transition so smooth for them that it’s all just a new day, not a new country. Good for you.
    I’m enjoying reading about the whole adventure, even if I haven’t had the wherewithal to comment in so, so long!

  7. Wishing your little one a great first day. The transition, from your description, appears seamless. I am always struck by your grace in handling your kids and your own feelings regarding such a huge change. It is a characteristic I certainly admire. Can’t wait to hear more about your days in Romania.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.