Haiku Friday

June 24, 2011 at 5:10 pm | Posted in Haiku Friday, Transylvania | 13 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: Road Rules

You’re going to stall.
And no one will laugh at you.
Except, um, your kids.

Watch out for buses.
And taxis. And people jay-
Walking. And horses.

Stop means stop. Except
When it really means yield or
Just keep on going.

Don’t go right on red.
Do squeeze your car into the
Smallest spot you can.

And if you’re new to
The Romanian road rules?
Get a yellow bang.

Have you ever driven in a foreign country? Can you drive a manual and parallel park? And do livestock share the road where you live??

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have NOT driven in a foreign country. When we toured in Italy on our honeymoon, I used to watch the traffic sure there was going to be an accident.

    It’s been awhile, but I could probably still drive a manual transmission. It’s what I learned on. I can parallel park, but I get self conscious. That is, is a car is waiting to pass me, or it’s near a busy sidewalk, I tend to let nerves defeat me, and I go looking for another spot.

  2. I have to say that I give you a lot of credit for doing all this🙂 It’s not easy when you have to share the road with livestock.

  3. We share our roads with livestock and Amish buggies, but we do it in an automatic transmission minivan. You are a brave mama, indeed! xo

  4. I like that yellow bang theory. They should do that for all types of activities when a person is just getting started: golfing, ice skating, parenting. Not sure I’d ever lose my yellow bang for parenting.

  5. Yes. I have driven and walked through the streets of India. It is certainly jarring to not only look out for other people, but all of the cows. And also there are certain local, local rules that you only figure out when it is too late.

    Love these posts Stacia. Hope you and the fam are adjusting as best you can.

  6. I am a little embarrassed to admit that I have never driven anywhere outside of New Jersey (which is a bit of a foreign land to some itself, what with all the jughandles and no-left-turns-allowed). I have a feeling that if I ever did drive out of state, my Jersey license plates would be sort-of like a yellow bang that entitled me to receive all types of rudeness from others… What’s the opposite of yellow? Purple? Jersey plates = purple bang.😛

    I am enjoying reading about your adventures in Romania. Hope your transition is going as smoothly as possible.

  7. You know, I grew up in Malaysia but when I go home now, I wouldn’t dare to drive. People and rules (or the lack thereof) are just too scary for me!

    I have so much respect for you for already driving around in Romania like that. How gutsy!

  8. I LOVED your haiku!

    I actually learned to drive two weeks before moving to Japan. I should clarify that by “learn to drive,” I mean, “learn to drive just barely well enough that the test-giver passed me only because (a) he felt I was too intelligent not to have learned to drive sooner and (b) I was going to be driving in another country far away shortly.” The good thing about this was that driving on the “wrong” side of the street didn’t feel very wrong. Only the act of driving did, ha!

    Most of the time it was okay, although I noticed that in the rural areas where I lived a lot of things–stop signs, stop lights, speed limits–were taken as guidelines rather than actual rule of law. I got by well, even with the narrow roads, save when I got lost trying to find my first school way up in the mountains. I was in a rental car while my new used car was prepared for me, terrified about dinging it up and finding myself on increasingly narrow roads. I stopped the car and started crying on one such narrow road. I was impossibly late, anxious about driving, and absolutely clueless about where I was in relation to the school. Fortunately, an old lady saw me, pulled out her bike, instructed me through the narrow passage I was stuck at . . . and biked to the school so I could follow her. Though the experience felt horrible to start, it did end pretty well.🙂

  9. That yellow bang is awesome! We should have one here in the states, too. Seriously.

    I don’t envy you the Romanian driving, though.

  10. I do share the road with livestock. It’s cool/frightening when the cows completely surround my car and I feel like I’m in cow soup and I’m just a piece of floating celery.

    You are totally brave and will come out of this year thinking there’s NOTHING you cannot do. Hooray!

    • Cow soup! I love it. On a slightly related note, there’s actually a local dish here called cow stomach soup … Not sure if I’ll have the guts (pun intended!) to try it while we’re here or not.

  11. Yikes! I think driving in Europe was one of the most terrifying things I’ve ever done. Naples, anyone? Could never tackle Asia!!! x

  12. I have never driven in a foreign country, and after reading this, I’m thinking that is a good thing….for everyone!

    I love that they have signs for new drivers. That is genius.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.