Photo Tuesday

July 5, 2011 at 9:49 pm | Posted in Bun, Photo Tuesday, Transylvania | 14 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

“America is a tune. It must be sung together.” ā€” Gerald Stanley Lee

We’re 6,000 miles from home this Fourth of July. Here in Romania, yesterday was just another ordinary Monday. So we cobbled together a quiet family celebration and found reminders of the Red, White, and Blue in both the familiar and the foreign. From watching our blue-clad baby take his first wobbly steps to spotting a basketball goal on a walk to the park, we felt our home country with us, if only figuratively.

How did you celebrate the Fourth of July? Have you ever spent it abroad? And American or otherwise, where do you find symbols of your homeland?

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

+++

See more patriotism at Beth’s on Thursday.

Photobucket

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. oh my gosh, Bun is walking? Are you excited? What a story you will have!

    We drove home from Erie yesterday, and the kids went to bed early and slept through the fireworks. They will get to see them another year!

  2. I hope that you enjoyed the 4th!šŸ™‚ I am enjoying keeping up with your adventures. *LOVE* Bun’s little baby legs!!

    So, I want to send you something soon. Is there anything that I’m not allowed to send to Romania? Anything you are craving? Ketchup? šŸ™‚

  3. I can’t remember if I was ever away from home for the 4th of July, though I certainly was for other holidays. Your question about finding home brought me to a very specific image. I was reading while walking to the video store of very rural South Korea when a flash of green and yellow caught my eye. I glanced up and was blown away to see that the flash of green and yellow was a football poster for my alma mater, the University of Oregon. I felt like the world was small and yet full of infinite possibility at that moment . . .

  4. Love the pics. Happy 4th!

  5. Oh, those little chubby legs! So cute!

  6. Aw. I hope you enjoyed your day, despite being so far from home. When I lived overseas, days that were no more than an excuse for a barbecue at home took on real significance. Happy 4th of July!

  7. Oh, chubby legs. We’re still waiting for our one year old to walk around here. I love the shots that are reminders of home. Great quote, too!

  8. I enjoyed your photos. My favorite is the stack of blocks!

  9. Loving the composition on those- all so very interesting.

  10. You definitely have artistic talent and an eye for what fascinates. I love the last photo, in particular.

  11. I’ve only been out of the country once on the fourth of July and it was a very odd feeling. I’m glad you were able to make the most of it in your new part of the world.

  12. I can’t believe Bun is walking!! Cannot wait to see it in person!! It will be here before we know it!! Miss you all!!

  13. What is it about little chubby wubby baby legs that always get’s me?

  14. I hope you had a happy 4th! The holidays can be hard…especially the winter holidays, if they are particularly special to you. I spent 8 4th of Julys abroad, as well as 8 Christmases, new years, Thanksgivings, birthdays, etc….a part of me always ached because I’d lost all the associations I used to have with those holidays – family, a feeling of peacefulness or rest (in Japan people worked right through Thanksgiving (of course) and Christmas). In time I realized I could find my own ways to recognize the holidays with some effort and, of course, I loved the Japanese holidays that I was now a part of.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.