Photo Tuesday

July 19, 2011 at 9:41 pm | Posted in Bun, Photo Tuesday | 25 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

“We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures.” —Thornton Wilder

It’s been a week of frustrating moments here in Romania. I tried to make a haircut appointment for my son, and the scheduler hung up on me when we started having language issues. My daughter got sick … again. I tried to make banana pudding for dinner with friends. (Let’s just say, non-instant pudding mix doesn’t work quite the same.) Then a thunderstorm blew through. I opened all the windows. I tossed out my negativity as the cool breeze tickled my neck. I remembered what a blessing, what an adventure, spending this year in this country is for me and for my family. And when I started looking for treasures — from my baby’s new red shoes to the flowers blooming down the street — I found them.

Where do you find treasures? How do you jettison your negative thoughts? And do you love thunderstorms as much as I do?

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

+++

See more plants and trees and babies (oh, my!) at Beth’s on Thursday.

Photobucket

25 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love those photos, but don’t love the struggles you’ve described here.

    When I’m getting overwhelmed–with tasks or unhappiness–I imagine I’m on the back of a fast-moving boat releasing my troubles to the wind, where they dissolve. It’s really helped me, more even than ice cream or chocolate.😉

  2. That tree is super cool. It reminds me of a poster I had up on my wall when I was a teenager. It was a picture of a gigantic tree and you didn’t notice on first glance that it was growing out of the middle of a city.

    Sorry for the struggles. Nothing like a good rain to cleanse everything!

  3. I love the red shoes🙂 and the flowers🙂 I love it all🙂 I love that you embrace the positivity🙂

  4. I love that, as hard as it is, you are able to take a deep breath and look at your blessings. I also love your photos.

  5. These photographs are great. The colors are popping. And how can you not love those red shoes? I’m sorry you’re having such a hard time of some things, but you’re keeping a wonderful perspective.

  6. The treasures are always there when we look for them, aren’t they? I love your photos — now you’re a great writer and an ace photographer. What can’t you do, woman?! Hope things are looking up!

  7. I really like the red shoes.

  8. * red shoe photo

  9. Your first shot of the tree looks like a painting!! Hope your daughter feels better😀

  10. Beautiful color in all these shots!

  11. A good thunderstorm sounds wonderful. I’m fascinated by your expat living in Romania. I visited Bucharest when I was sixteen and although it was only a few days out of a much larger trip, I have more stories from there than anyplace else that we visited. It’s definitely unique!

    Love the red shoes!

  12. Oh my. I totally understand having to toss the negativity out the window. I’ve been trying to do that a lot lately! I love the red shoes and the singular daisy!

  13. I really like the flowers and the gate shot🙂

  14. These photos are magnificent. I hope you frame some of these when you return to the states. Some days I try to make it through, one minute at a time and hope the next moment will be better than the last. I usually try and go for a run to release negativity. Thinking of you and hope your week gets better.

  15. Love the shoes! I really like thunderstorms, but we rarely get them where I live.

  16. so sweet

  17. hey – I stopped by here this morning – where did my comment go?? hummm? great set of photos!

    • I don’t know … I checked the spam folder and it wasn’t there. How very strange. Thanks for re-stopping by! =>

  18. If you need me to call to get that appointment, I’d be happy to help . . . .

  19. Oh, those photos made me want to cuddle little, chubby fingers and legs. Alas, my girls have neither. And heck yes, a good thunderstorm is hoo-boy fun.

  20. Love those bright yellow flowers- totally made me smile.

  21. Such beautiful photos! I especially like the red shoes and the one of the single white flower (a daisy?).

  22. I love it that you found the silver lining…and then shared the pics with all of us! Beautiful!

  23. Wonderful captures! Love that tree.
    It’s so easy to get caught up in all the chaos and let it bring you down. It took me two years to even want to venture out and explore in Germany — so you’re doing great! I know you don’t have a whole lot of choice since you have kids, but it’s always difficult to find peace in a place where you often aren’t totally positive about what is going on around you. The language barrier is definitely rough. Just keep your chin up and cherish the moments you have😉

  24. You know what Bowie says, or sings rather: “..put on your red shoes and dance the blues…”

    I love these shots. So wonderful to live the foreign country experience vicariously through you; even when some days aren’t the best, it’s still worth remembering.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.