Photo Tuesday

July 26, 2011 at 10:27 pm | Posted in Photo Tuesday, Transylvania | 28 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

“Pleasure is spread through the earth
In stray gifts to be claimed by whoever shall find.” — William Wordsworth

There is bounty hidden everywhere in these city streets. I love its nonchalance — grapes peeking through a rusty fence, cherries lined up in the sidewalk, pears complementing the graffiti on a street sign. The Romanian people are equally blasé. They snatch a handful of cherries from somebody else’s tree as they walk to the bus stop. Or they hopscotch effortlessly through the maze of tiny apples littering the ground after a storm. I can’t imagine taking these pictures back home, where the only fruit I see is the perfectly groomed stuff lined up on grocery store shelves. It makes me want to grab a few cherries and savor their impromptu sweetness myself.

What’s your favorite fruit? Ever seen it growing “wild”? And would you pick the cherries??

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

+++

See more fruit at Beth’s on Thursday.

Photobucket

28 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Pick the cherries! This post reminds me of one weekend when I was in France with some friends of our family. A stroll in the alpine neighborhood revealed patches of raspberries growing by the side of the road. We picked some as we walked back to their house. They may have belonged to someone. Or not.

  2. Oh, and how sweet this post is. Every word and image. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Savor and enjoy…great pictures!

  4. I love the memories that this evokes about my travels to India. I know I sound like a broken record, but your posts about Romania almost always stirs something about some snippet of my travels to India. There were huge almond trees in India and my cousins and I would shake the trees until the almond fruit would come down. Oh, thanks for this post friend. It’s been a long time since I’ve visited this particular memory.

  5. It is a cultural tradition in Romania to plant this kind of trees as well as to have water wheels on the side of the roads from ancient times.The point is that in this way any traveler can stop to rest in the shadow of the tree,eat some fruits,drink some water and then go on with his travel even though the residents are not available to give a helping hand since they are out farming on the fields.The best place to see this even today is the countryside.best wishes!

  6. So you’re there and settled in? Gorgeous fruit photos!

  7. Love these pictures, Stacia! And to have these fruits grow all around you – wow! It seems so surreal for someone who’s lived in the city all her life. I would pick the cherries if I were you. When in Romania…😉

    My favorite fruits: cherries, mangoes and longan (a favorite from my childhood in Malaysia). But lately, anything fresh from the farmer’s market makes me happy.

  8. We grow blackberries and strawberries in our back garden, and they are favorites among the neighborhood kids. We don’t mind sharing our bounty; I’m sure your neighbors wouldn’t, either!

    I LOVE your photos! Thanks for sharing with us!

  9. Your photos are AMAZING! You are inspiring me to figure out what to do with the big girl camera and the Photoshop Elements I got back in December. Beautiful! The street sign photo is actually my fave here.

  10. What great photos, Stacia!

    I actually just drove by a woman picking wild berries (blackberries, I guess?) along the side of the road. It struck me as incongruous to see this woman foraging for fruit across from the CVS, but I love the idea of the bounty of nature being available to any passerby. I think the Romanians (and this central Ohioan) are onto something. Pick those cherries!

    We have a container garden on our deck this summer and we are growing strawberries, among various vegetables. I’m not sure if you’d consider them “wild,” but it’s certainly wilder than the produce section of Kroger where I get most of my fruit.

  11. I would totally pick the cherries, and the grapes! I hope you’re enjoying Romania’s harvests. Who knew it was such a beautiful, rustic place?!

  12. I love the summer fruits: berries, melons. we have blackberries growing in the back yard, and we often go out and pick, wash, and eat them!

    • Blackberries in your yard! Wow! I’ve only seen those here once so far, and I bought all the produce guy had left, which was not much. Just enough to whet my appetite. I don’t suppose they’d ship very well??

  13. LOVE the pattern with the crab apples and the stones!!!

  14. How beautiful! I love all of these. When in Romania, right? I’d totally do as they do and steal a taste or two.

  15. I love the second photo! It is lovely as are the grapes.

    I figure you might as well eat the fruit, especially if it is obvious that nobody seems to care!

  16. you are so right – I don’t think I would have the courage to pluck someone’s fruit from their yard!

  17. what a creative way to capture the apples and stones – how cool is that!! My fav is bananas – i could eat them everyday!! especially with chocolate sauce on them!

  18. Lovely and wonderful. I’d definitely take a taste…

  19. I’m not sure what I like more about this post. The photos or your words. I do LOVE that second shot. And I love that you can grab cherries right off of someone else’s tree!😀

  20. Lovely post! I’d take a few if I were you!

  21. I love that second one- they are all aligned so perfectly in that crack.

  22. We love picking fresh fruit — but I’m such a rule follower, we go to farms that allow you to pick your own (for a fee, of course). But I say, go for it, you rebel you!

  23. the first shot is my favorite! great captures

  24. Great shots. Love the fruit in the crack — but I actually think those are Mirabelle plums. They range in color from yellow to red/pink. Taste pretty much just like plums. Everywhere over here. We actually made wine from them last year but haven’t really tried it yet.🙂

  25. Yum!
    Great pics.
    (I’d eat the cherries.)

  26. I adore the stones and fruit.

  27. I love visiting this photo treat again. And this line, “I love its nonchalance” – makes me wonder how people who spend a year in America experience it. What does a tourist see in my home that I overlook?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.