Photo Tuesday

August 10, 2011 at 1:16 pm | Posted in Bun, Family, Giggles, Lollipop, Photo Tuesday, Transylvania | 30 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

“My advice to you is not to inquire why or whither, but just enjoy your ice cream while it’s on your plate.” — Thornton Wilder

I’ve been in the parenting doldrums lately. Preschool is closed for the month of August (so everyone can go on holiday, in that fantastic European tradition that Americans with their measly two weeks of annual vacation can only dream about). That means all three kiddos have been home with me all day, every day. Before we came to Romania, they spent their days with me for most of the week. So I know I can do it. And do it reasonably well. But now? I wonder how I ever managed to care for them and keep my sanity intact.

That’s why I was ambivalent about this weekend getaway we had planned. Because while a vacation with kids is fun and action-packed, it isn’t really, you know, relaxing and rejuvenating. But the scenery — the sunsets, the thunderstorms, the fog, the food, the naps, the bouquet my husband picked for me on our hike — soothed my Lego-weary mind. Yes, there were tantrums. Yes, there were timeouts. Yes, there were stern voices. But there was also the five of us, together, happy, soaking up every drop of sun, rain, and îngheţată this country has to offer.

How do you get out of a parenting slump? How do you find ways to enjoy traveling with your children? How much vacation do you get each year— and do you take it?

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

+++

See more happy things at Beth’s on Thursday.

Photobucket

30 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My wife and I were just talking about this. We’ve had a week in the Black Hills of South Dakota this summer and a week on the Oregon Coast. We’re fortunate to have that time. But there is nothing about a “vacation” with four young kids that is vacation-like in the sense of relaxation. It’s work. But lots of good memories. Ideally, we would have shipped them off to Romania for a month once we returned and had some time to ourselves.

    The tire pic is great. Nothing like an old tire for fun.

  2. My latest escape? Once every 2 or 3 weekends, I take off for a 4 hr stretch to go to Starbucks and work on my computer. It’s just nice to get away, even if just for a little while!

  3. That photo of the bikes in the beautiful green landscape is gorgeous.

    You’ll get your groove back – it takes a week or so, I think. Then you’ll wonder again how you can ever let them go back to school again.

    x

  4. It looks just so beautiful. I think a change of scenery is always good. Sure, you take them with you, but you’re taking them somewhere else. Always better.

  5. I love this, Stacia. We are in the Florida Keys fishing and it’s beautiful out here.🙂

  6. I had a girlie weekend in Philly with no kids that was very relaxing and fun.
    I had a weekend away with family, including my parents and my three children, that was a lot more work, but still fun.
    I think you need both: the memory building you do with your kids on vacation. We went away to Cape Cod for a week (when we were still just four), and my 6yo still talks about it. And the time to yourself to renew your energy. At least, I sure need both!

  7. Your pics are gorgeous. Oh how I miss one piece toddler outfits and chubby hands.

  8. I could stare at that second picture all day… (but not in a creepy way.)
    Beautiful!!

  9. The parenting doldrums are a frightening place to land, and I think — for me — they happen when life itself gets boring. So any trip, any plan, any excursion, no matter how fraught with stress or un-relaxation is welcome! It gives us something to look forward to. I’m glad you got to take the weekend away (and not only because the photos you took are so stunning!) even if it included stern voices🙂 And I hope the doldrums end soon!

    My advice? Keep exploring. It beats being bored, any day.

    (As for how much vacation we get, or take? Hubby hasn’t had a vacation in about three years. It’s a mess. I hate it. Long weekends are all we can manage lately, and the last time that happened was….last summer? Ugh. I’m praying for some relief on that front.)

  10. Gorgeous photos again! And I wish I had some ice cream on my plate to enjoy, literally speaking.

    I hope to be back on the bloggy grid soon!

  11. These photos are absolutely beautiful. I have three weeks off starting this Friday… my son will remain in daycare, as we are transitioning to a new center, so I will have every afternoon alone. It’s the first time this has happened since he was born. I’m not sure what I will do with myself. I’m thinking that a few beach days at the [non-MTV-invaded] Jersey Shore are in order!

  12. We take one family vacation and one adults-only vacation. Both are crucial and leave us feeling rejuvenated and happy to belong to each other.

    I need to find a way to capture that feeling every day.

  13. That last photo is beautiful. The quote and your pics remind me to embrace the now. Whether on vacation or parenting at home. . .

  14. That second photo of the hut and the boardwalk/road —that is just gorgeous. Looks like an amazing place to forget about the world. As crazy as it was at times, you have to cherish the happy, crazy moments while you can before they’ve all moved out and gone off to college😉

  15. I totally understand those parenting doldrums. Hang in there! These pictures are gorgeous and dreamy…

  16. your second photo is beautiful!

  17. It is always kind of stressful traveling with kids, new places and everything, I guess we’ve always just let things slide, that way it makes it a tad bit easier, (not much less stressful) on us as parents. Love that second shot!

  18. We’ve gone on 3 mini vacations with our son this summer (he’s currently 14 months). Usually it’s just a weekend at the beach or the grandparents. It’s semi relaxing but not what I’m used to when going to the beach. No water, no book reading. I pretty much just chase him around! It’s fun knowing that he’s having a great time1

  19. Oh my, that 2nd picture is so beautiful, you are so lucky to live where you get to see that!

  20. these shots are so beautiful! I love that second shot. And the daisy shot is pretty too!

  21. Love the photos!! Especially the second, it conjures up imagery of Tolkien’s The Shire

  22. wow what amazing pics, that 2nd pic is breathtaking

  23. I enjoy all your images so much. You have a great eye. Hope your holiday month goes by fast but not too fast.😉

  24. I want to be in the second photo…

  25. What stunning shots of an amazingly beautiful place!

  26. That second picture is absolutely magical. Wow!

  27. Your pics make me smile🙂
    Have a great weekend!

  28. Gorgeous photos! I too feel overwhelmed when left to entertain my two littles ones day in and day out, so I got all ambitious this summer by designing a mom’s summer camp. I basically mapped out our summer with an activity to do each and every day, with Fridays off, of course😉

    My husband gets 4 weeks vacation something he was building towards over seven years (he started with 2). Me? Ha! Maybe if I start speaking mumbo jumbo and my husband starts to get the feel that I need a break. Then I get a morning to myself. Even vacation with two small children and a husband is work!

    Good luck! And gorgeous photos!

  29. That second shot is gorgeous!🙂 My son had a Cars birthday party this year and we got some old tires to play games with at the party…they had so much fun climbing all over them. WHo knew? Great shots!🙂

  30. Oh I haven’t had a vacation since Thumper was conceived! I so need one now but I guess I could just live vicariously through you for now. These pictures make me smile…and make me wish I was there with you too!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.