Photo Tuesday

September 27, 2011 at 1:37 pm | Posted in Giggles, Lollipop, Photo Tuesday, Transylvania | 16 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

“Green is the prime color of the world, and that from which its loveliness arises.”
— Pedro Calderon de la Barca

A graphic-designer friend, in her fabulous, artsy way, recently asked me to pick one color to describe Romania. When I said green, she was surprised. She said she imagined it to be a dreary, gray country, maybe because she remembered seeing images of austere high-rise apartment blocs from the Communist era. But this country is nothing, if not colorful. From the cars parked on the sidewalks to the produce piled high at the supermarket to the flowers decorating the countryside, it’s a visual bounty. And the best part, to me, is that none of it is intentional. The fruit trees shading my urban street, the native grasses at the playground, the crates of varză and pepene verde at the farmers’ market — the haphazard spontaneity of it all catches my eye just as much as the color.

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

+++

See more green at Beth’s on Thursday.

Photobucket

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I had no idea Romania was as beautiful as in your photos. And that produce looks fantastic!

  2. Your photos do a great job capturing your description. Love that last one! Do the kiddos love all the access to fresh fruits?

    • They love picking the fruit. They love finding it on the ground and carrying it around in their pockets or a bucket or something. So, they love the idea of fresh fruit. But one brown spot or shriveled side, and they are done. (Sadly, they get that from me.)

  3. Stacia, your journey is so amazing. Thank you for sharing it with all of us! (Romania reminds me of the Midwest, and your friends description for how I always pictured it, until I moved here. Green is definitely the way I would describe our new home.)

  4. Stacia, I love the pictures…the last one priceless.

  5. So, like your friend, I was totally picturing Romania as gray and with a constant semi-dreariness. So glad to hear that GREEN is your first color association. Green is my favorite color, and I like thinking of your family surrounded by it!

  6. I would have said gray too!! We have friends from Romania and that’s just what I always imagined!!! (Their personality is kind of gray though…maybe that’s why!) I love your Photo Tuesdays!

  7. Such a pretty collection of photos, and I love the colour theme! Green is such a soothing colour too🙂

    by the way check out the Little Brown Pen blog, she takes colour themed photos of Paris, great inspiration if you want to further explore Romania’s colours!

  8. LOVE those pictures. Your pictures always make me want to travel.
    And I was always a person who loved the color blue, but as I have gotten older, I have started to be more of a green person, if it is the right color green.

    JJ came home from 1st grade last week and told me that his art teacher told them that green is a calming color. Maybe that is why I love it.

  9. I am surprised that it is green also! I guess my untraveled side envisioned gray just as your friend. You always capture the best photos. And the angles add a fantastic element. I hope your leg is cooperating a little more every day.

  10. These are such wonderful photos, representing all the wonderful shades of green.

  11. Wonderful green photos! The cabbages (or lettuce?) is my favorite photo. Green is such a lovely color.

  12. What a fun assortment of subjects. I really like the first photo of the market. Makes me feel that I’m there smelling the fresh fruits and vegetables.

  13. I love that 4th shot. Maybe because it sort of reminds me of one of mine. And I like the perspective too. I love that you said “green”.🙂

  14. What a beautiful place. Your pics of your surroundings always make me say WOW.

  15. I am usually not a fan of green. But your photos have changed my mind. Lovely pics.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.