Haiku Friday

October 21, 2011 at 1:39 pm | Posted in Me, Transylvania | 15 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Local Color: The Physical Therapist

He fell from a tree
When he was younger and has
The scar to prove it.

He points to the slick,
Pink railroad track on his knee.
It looks just like mine.

He comforts me when
The doctor makes me cry and
Then he pushes me.

Flex, bend, stretch, repeat.
“It’s okay. Try to leave it,”
He says when it hurts.

His English is great,
But I laugh when he tells me
My foot is “swallowed.”

He’s tall and thin and
Kind and I want to set him
Up with my neighbor.

He will teach me to
Walk again … and I will make
Him banana bread.

Ever been through physical therapy? Ever had to re-learn a basic skill? Ever been so utterly grateful for someone else’s empathy?

+++

Read more Local Color:
Porsche Guy
The Super
The Preschool Teacher
The Produce Guy

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. He sounds wonderful! So glad there is a bit of a silver lining to the grey clouds surrounding this accident. Just think of all the people you never would have met! (I know, I know, some of them gladly, but still…)

  2. Okay, that was just fantastic! The haiku, that is, not the accident. ๐Ÿ™‚
    He sounds like a ray of sunshine!

  3. Physical therapists (at their best) are a wonderful mix of comfort and pain. I’m glad you’re in good hands!

  4. I’m glad you’re being taken care of! I have a soft spot for physical therapists…๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Physical therapists rank right up there with preschool teachers in my pantheon of Those Who Do Critical, Sometimes Thankless Work.

    Hope your foot is less swallowed soon. xo

  6. He sound great๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you feel better soon.

  7. I had ACL surgery on my knee in 1996 and the same knee gave me trouble again in 2002. Both times, I was so impressed by my physical therapists. While I was in the sessions, I would think, “Okay, I am scooting myself around on a rolly office chair. This is lame. Now I am balancing on a bouncy thing and catching balls. Whatever.” And then, wouldn’t you know it, I was gaining strength and helping to repair the damage. Awesome! I never made any banana bread to say thanks though. Please try to arrange the set-up. Then, you can go back to Romania for the wedding once they fall in love and etc.

  8. I’ve never done physical therapy, though my 5 year old has gone to speech therapy in a therapist’s office and my entertainment until he was done was watching everyone else work out. Hope they work your foot to where it feels better soon.

  9. I’ve never been through PT, but I did watch my sister go through the process. Cheering you on from here!

  10. As hard as this has been, it sounds like you are finding your support system. I hope it keeps getting better!

  11. I am hoping you are walking so very soon!!! He sounds wonderful.๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Where would we be without our (physical and mental) therapists?๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Oh my gosh that looks so painful – and a lot of hardware! Yep – done physical therapy – tore all the ligaments and tendons in my ankle. Very painful.

  14. My sister is a physical therapist. I’ve always admired the work she does. And she, hands down, is one of the most compassionate people I know. So glad he offered you some comfort. Heal fast my friend!

  15. […] food and comfort to my doorstep when they heard about my accident. Our nanny. Our neighbors. My physical therapist. The list is as long as our time here is short. As winter closes in and the dreary, foggy cold […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.