Haiku Friday

November 11, 2011 at 3:57 pm | Posted in Family, Friends, Transylvania | 19 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: (Sanity) Check’s in the Mail

Can you tell which leg's the broken one?

Just when I think I
Can’t go on without Cheetos,
We get some white slips.

We can’t read them, but
They basically say, “Come get
Your goodie boxes!”

We head to Customs,
Bribe in hand (just in case) to
Claim our stateside stash.

And, oh, the bounty!
Bunny-shaped graham crackers for
My three wee bunnies.

Fuzzy candy-corn
Socks that make my mouth water
And my feet toasty.

Lentils to soothe my
Vegetarian soul in
This pork-loving place.

Chocolate, chocolate, and
More chocolate (I ♥ Nestle)
From the Great White North.

Homemade cards. (Homemade!)
Right from Heather’s home craft room.
(Her own room! For crafts!)

Twizzlers, chocolate chips,
Tortilla chips, brownie mix,
Craisins, and Reese’s.

Tons of M&Ms —
Peanut, peanut-butter, plain —
To bribe the kids with.

The stacks and stacks of
Corrugated brown goodness
Fill our homesick hearts.

What are your favorite surprises to get in the mail? What items would you miss if you didn’t have access to a familiar grocery store? And what’s your favorite kind of M&M?

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

19 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love the new pretzel M&Ms!

  2. But did they send you Cheetos? A girl needs Cheetos! How wonderful to get such a bounty in the mail.

    • Yes, Cheetos galore! Bags and bags of orange-fingered deliciousness. =>

  3. Something about this made me think of prison. Bribes. “The goods.”

    Peanut butter M&Ms for me.

    • Yes, the Communist corruption “legacy” runs deep here … The mayor of our town is about to be indicted for bribery. His wife’s in it up to her neck, too. Good times, good times.

      • Wow. I hope that you’re working on a novel. It’s practically writing itself.

  4. I am SO happy for you guys! Care packages are just wonderful!

  5. I do not like nestle. They have have an unethical marketing department.

    I do though love those slippers! and YAY!!! we can see your feet! does this mean your cast is gone?

    • They actually took the cast off in the hospital and put me in a heavy-duty brace to accommodate the physical therapy I’ve had to do (lots and lots of bending … ouch). I’m just now able to hobble around the house without the brace, and that makes my leg happy. =>

  6. I am glad you are enjoying the cheetos and M & M’s! Care packages are the best.

  7. 🙂 Glad we’re keeping you stocked up!

  8. Very cute!

  9. Aww, I’m honored to have made a Fluffy Bunnies haiku! Speaking of candy goodness, have you tried the candy cane hershey kisses ever? Oh my word…they are divine.

    LOVE the slippers! Is the cast off just in time for snow?

    • You mean just in time for me to slip on the ice and break my other leg?? Not that I’m worried about that or anything. =>

  10. Awesome to get such a care package. Yummy! My favorite is the peanut ones🙂 love them. Enjoy all your goodies.

  11. Ok… I’m totally craving candy and goodies now, lol!! Fun socks!

  12. There’s nothing like a care package from your home country!! I used to live for them when I was in Japan. Looks like you need googley eyes and Mucinex too?.

  13. […] My pantry. And my supply of red-and-blue priority-mail boxes. Once I put away the M&Ms and Cheetos and stickers and fuzzy slippers friends send in care packages, I stow the boxes until I can return the favor. And, sometimes, when […]

  14. You are the standard bearer for gratitude.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.