My Cold Snap

December 8, 2011 at 4:44 pm | Posted in Bun, Family, Lollipop, Photo Tuesday, Transylvania | 21 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

“If the world seems cold to you, kindle fires to warm it.” ā€” Lucy Larcom

Five Tips for Staying Warm This Winter
1. Wearing earmuffs on top of your winter hat keeps you extra warm. And extra stylish. (My five-year-old is glad she could enlighten you.)

2. Icy trees like this one are best photographed from your kitchen window. With a cup of hot chocolate waiting for you on the counter.

3. When purchasing a sweet treat from your local holiday market, be sure to choose something that can be eaten with gloves on. Like sugary, steaming-hot bread.

4. When even the ironwork huddles together for warmth, you know it’s time to crank up the heater.

5. It’s a proven fact that big smiles from little boys generate lots of warmth.

What tips do you have for staying warm? What’s your favorite cold-weather snack or beverage? What winter activity makes your little ones smile?

+++

Real Women of Pinterest
I’m in the middle of this online photography tutorial that I found on Pinterest. (There’s no way I could have taken that night shot without it!) Check out more Pinterest-inspired posts and meet more “Real Women of Pinterest” at MEP’s and Erin’s.

You Capture
Then warm up with more chilly photos at Beth’s.

Photobucket

21 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. LOVE the earmuffs! And oh my gosh, how cute is that last photo?!

  2. Such GREAT pictures! I love how you said the iron huddles together… you have a way with words. And I totally agree with your tips on staying warm. It looks super chilly there!

  3. Lovely, lovely photos! I bought Photoshop Elements last year, but only recently started using it in the most remedial, guided way. After the holidays, I’m going to give that tutorial a try. Great idea!

  4. I am knee deep in Photoshop elements and my new Canon Rebel guide book…this tutorial is just the thing for me! Thanks for sharing! Being off of school for this month is perfect timing for learning a bit more about photography/editing! Your pics are always so gorgeous; I could learn from you, too!

  5. Those earmuffs are TOO cute! My daughter would go nuts for them…especially if they were purple lol.
    Really great shots this week! Love the lighting at the Christmas market. And was kinda surprised that they have those there too. šŸ™‚

  6. Love the photos, too, and your descriptions of them all… like that even the fence posts are huddling. Great pic of Bun and Josh!

  7. Very nice! šŸ™‚

  8. OMG, an online tutorial for photography?? I’m SO there. Thanks for sharing. I will have to check it out. I’ve been wanting, for the longest time, to get into it seriously and thought about taking classes but didn’t have the time. Online tutorial seems like a perfect fit. And from the pics you have here, looks effective too. Great job mama!

  9. Beautiful shots! I love the night shot and the frosty tree the most!

  10. Those ear muffs are Fabulous!

  11. Oh my goodness, I love your photos here! The last one is precious and I keep coming back to the iron fence – very cool.

  12. I keep thinking someday I’ll get a better camera or better editing software, but I’m pretty sure I don’t need any more reasons to be on my computer. Your pictures always make me really want to learn more about photography, though. Nice work.

  13. Love all of your shots…you make cold look so fun. If I could only embrace the cold….

  14. Sweet! Cold IS pretty, but like you said, from inside. Anything that keeps you warm in the pretty cold is good, like those earmuffs. šŸ˜‰ That last photo steals my heart.

  15. That last one is my favorite! I’m off to check out that Pin! šŸ™‚

  16. Thanks for your visit! I luv your frosted stems!

  17. Those ear muffs are so cute!

  18. Love the earmuffs and hat. Totally works.

  19. all of your shots are so spectacular! especially that last one.

  20. You have some great shots, and I love your tips as well. I’m liking the hot chocolate photographing through a window. Only problem is that I need to go wash my windows first!

  21. The second and third shots are amazing. Love them.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.