Magic Marks

January 25, 2012 at 10:45 am | Posted in Photo Tuesday, Transylvania | 27 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Dandelion

Atomic Tangerine

Midnight Blue

Brick Red

Unmellow Yellow

“Maybe we should develop a Crayola bomb as our next secret weapon. A happiness weapon. A beauty bomb. And every time a crisis developed, we would launch one. It would explode high in the air — explode softly — and send thousands, millions, of little parachutes into the air. Floating down to earth — boxes of Crayolas. And we wouldn’t go cheap, either — not little boxes of eight. Boxes of sixty-four, with the sharpener built right in. With silver and gold and copper, magenta and peach and lime, amber and umber and all the rest. And people would smile and get a little funny look on their faces and cover the world with imagination.”
— Robert Fulghum

What crayola colors do you see in your part of the world? Which are bursting through the cold, dreary winter? And did you covet the box with the sharpener when you were a kid?

+++

Fluffy Bunnies in Romania:
Read the tales
.
See the photos.

27 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Stacia, I so enjoy your posts. I look forward to your wonderful pictures and words!

  2. Love the photos! Great post. I’m about to get my kiddos some new crayons for Valentine’s Day…our box is currently filled with small broken pieces. We love our crayons…to the point of wearing them out!

    • Broken crayons? Have I got the Pinterest craft for you! =>

  3. Midnight blue and sea green were my favorites back in the day…

  4. We have actually been coloring a lot lately. I am partial to the new “metallic” crayola’s. Sparkly.
    Midnight blue has always been one of my favorites. I still covet the box with the sharpener…

  5. Wasn’t that box of 64 the best?! I loved the turquoise and all blue-greens, green-blues. The most notable colors I see now: butter yellow on the yellow-rumped warbler, crimson on the cardinal.

  6. oh, did i ever love the box with the sharpener! to this day, few things excite me as much as a brand new box of crayons.

    ps – i love the boots. =^)

  7. Thanks for your comment on my blog! Sewing tips….just read the manual of whatever sewing machine you buy and then play around with it on some scrap fabric. That’s the best way to learn I think! A lot of sewing is trial and error for me….but it’s really not too hard at all! Good luck!

  8. Oh my, I LOVED the box with the sharpener as a child! These are such bright colors in what looks like a cold and wintry world. Great captures!

  9. Great photos and even better names! I love the smell of a fresh box of crayons… is that wrong… 🙂

  10. I loved the box of 64 when I was a kid (maybe even not so little). I was very careful about caring for those beloved crayons and refused to share them with my little sister. My mom found the old box the other day, all 64 crayons used, but still in fantastic condition. I had to laugh. Then she dumped them out of the box and gave them to my 2 1/2 year old daughter to color with. I don’t mind sharing them this time around.

    Also, I love the snow on the slide in the first picture. 🙂

  11. Love those yellows and reds! Two of my favorite colors!

  12. Wow, I adore that quote. And your beautiful and fun colors!🙂

  13. That quote is awesome! Great post and photos! Love the perspective on the last one🙂

  14. Sigh. Today I only see grey. But it’s also one of my favorite colors, so I suppose it’s not a bad thing. But does Crayola even have grey?

    p.s. Love your pictures as usual. I’m yet to get on that online tutorial you recommended!

  15. Those red boots are fabulous!!!

  16. Your photos astound me! Love the quote at the end. Right now in Ohio we are in some horrid sort of gray…hoping it will be blinding white soon!

  17. Very nice work. I love the way you capture stuff at unique angles. It makes your pictures all the more special. And your colors are brilliant. Ditto on the quote.

  18. I SO WANTED the box with a sharpener. Which is why I got one for my kid…he didn’t really care since he is only 4. Haha!

  19. Your photos are always so bright and colorful, full of life and wonder. The box with the sharpener was always the best as a kid. My kids have a sharpener for their crayons, but the crayons never stay together long enough to use. They’re kind of rough on their crayons.

  20. The atomic tangerine makes me happy!

  21. Brilliant – pun intended.

  22. I just LOVE that shot of the red boots!

  23. This is delightful !!!!!!!!! 🙂

  24. Auchan is French, I think – you’ll see it when you come here. All your pictures are full of crayola! 🙂

    • I do think it’s French. I like buying Auchan-brand stuff because I can mostly read the labels … My French is a whole lot better than my Romanian! =>

  25. Lovely prose and pics. It is like taking a mini-shot of color. Love this.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.