Bringing Haiku Back

April 6, 2012 at 11:36 pm | Posted in Guest Posts, Haiku Friday | 12 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Guess what April is …
National Poetry Month!
And to celebrate?

Haiku Friday is
Back. With guest poets! Prizes!

And erudite fun!

First up is Justine,
who knows that a dead wasp can
Cure sore throats. (Really.)

She’s got two girls and
Works and writes from her home in
The Windy City.

And? Her words are as
S
crumptious as her rainbow chard.
Sit down and dig in!

++

The Epic Battle
By Justine

She kept saying, “Pink!”
I countered with “How ’bout green?”
or “What about blue?”

This? Our daily dance
between her “I want this now!”
and my “I know best.”

She is defiant;
she’s got personality.
Maybe ’cuz she’s three.

I see her folly,
and so I try to guide her,
hoping she would learn.

But there’s a fine line
’tween giving autonomy
and steering her right.

And sometimes I fail
(a lot) in finding balance;
that’s why we struggle.

Or maybe this is
how it will forever be;
my guidance, her bane.

Her will and my hope
haphazardly colliding —
friction that won’t wane.

All ’cuz she wants just
to be herself, and it’s sad
that I would want more.

How do you balance teaching your kids and letting them learn for themselves? How do you encourage independence? And do you recognize where your hope ends and their will begins?

++

Comment in haiku
And you could win something cool …
From Transylvania!

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for guest-poeting here, Justine! I have to say, I think Lollipop and Little Miss are cut from the same bolt of tulle. And having the perspective of two extra years of parenting a princess, I will say that it passes. And you’ll be sad about it. Really. When you think of the last time she wore a satin dress or those silly faux-glass slippers and you can’t actually remember the last time? It hits you right in the petticoat-less gut.

  2. pink, pink pink! Yellow?
    Though I abhor every pink,
    She adores each one.

    There is no balance
    Just slowly learned acceptance
    She is just herself.

    (And I’m me.
    And that’s okay.)

  3. Well done!
    Words flow down,
    A stream of emotions & connections,
    Resting in a pool of acceptance.

  4. Stacia, thank you for having me. I’m so honored to be your guest (you always have such nice chocolates). Your blog has been a favorite since I started my blogging journey. How awesome that I’m featured here!

    As for the struggle…yes, I have a feeling that this too shall pass. And if it doesn’t, it doesn’t. That’s just part of who she is right? And as parents shouldn’t we encourage them to be who they want to be? But it’s not easy.

    I guess I will always be second-guessing myself – never sure when I should say something and when it’s OK to let go.

    Like Kate, I’m not a fan of pink but I remember going through that pink phase myself and never touching that color again for years. One can hope right?😉

    • Well, forget everything I just said … Lollipop pulled out her mermaid princess dress to wear to a birthday party today. As long as she’s happy! =>

  5. Not up for haiku this morning, but love it!

  6. Thank you Stacia for hosting Justine. This is sweet and true in a universal way about the struggles with our children. Love this!

  7. spread the haiku love! wonderful. =^)

  8. Yeah to Justine! Represent!🙂

  9. Thanks for this poem, Justine. My little miss wants to do everything herself, especially things she can’t do herself, but she is still too young to balk at the clothes I choose for her … not looking forward to that stage.

    • Hi mep, that’s why we’re concentrating our efforts on our younger daughter, before she can make her own choices. At 10 months, we have a few battle-free months with her and we’re going to take advantage of it!🙂

  10. Gosh Justine, you are so talented, to be able to write about this in a haiku. I’m struggling so much with this very issue right now. The other day my son was asked by his teacher to write down what he wants to be when he grows up, and he said “CEO.” He said that he wants to boss other people around for a change. The poor kid; he’s a little CEO trapped inside a child’s body. I try to imagine what he feels like to always be told what to do and I want to work with his desire for autonomy, but at the same time I’m nervous about giving him too much autonomy. We butt heads ALL the time, and I’m trying to figure out the right balance, if there is one…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.