The Fixer

November 10, 2012 at 8:19 am | Posted in Bun, Giggles, Haiku Friday, Lollipop | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Haiku Friday: The Fixer

 

They yell for me when
they need the scissors or that
Green train that’s missing.

Upstairs, downstairs, on
The phone, or elbow-deep in
An epic diaper:

I can fix it all,
Even though what I want is
To fold the towels.

But the illusion
Of my perfection will fade
Like last year’s swimsuits.

They’ll grow up, grow wise.
They’ll see me — the mom behind
The tab-topped curtain.

The one who craves calm
And sleep and a day off to
Plow through a good book.

What toys can only you find? When’s the last time you had an uninterrupted phone conversation? And what would you do with a day off from mothering (or fathering)?

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You’re right! You are the wizard in your Oz now.

  2. I’m the world’s worst seeker – just ask my family. In fact I lose my house slippers at least once a day and ask my girls to go looking for them.

    As for phone conversations, I just don’t do those anymore. Too much of a battle. On my day off, I would read, run and yoga. Oh and maybe have a phone conversation or two 🙂

  3. I have half jokingly said that I ought to start a private detective service or something; I have worked some miracles locating my husband’s and son’s stuff!

    My 8 y/o still interrupts my phone calls but overall I’ve found that my life has gotten a lot quieter. Things get crazy in the evenings when we’re trying to cram in dinner, activities and homework but otherwise on days like today (Saturday) where he’s happy playing with friends and now without supervision, I’m on my own. I do like my personal freedom but it took some adjusting and even tears to get here. I used to crave my own time when i
    couldn’t get it, and now i have quite a bit of it. I think I’d like to stay right here where I have freedom but where I’m still needed 🙂

  4. Oh, me too. Me too. Phone? Um no. I’m covered in (you don’t want to know) and it’s past bedtime and though I’ve found the cause of that smell, the bead hole punch, the baby yogurt crunchies, a towel, three pairs of shoes and a potentially acceptable skirt for the wedding in a few weeks, I haven’t found much quiet.

    It’s nice to be needed. Kind of.

  5. It seems I always find the wrong DS (yes, BoyGenius has more than one!). Phone conversations are more often interrupted by my spouse than by my son but it’s at least once a day between the two of them. Like Cecilia my son is also 8 and starting to get out without me having to be there … baby steps that give me an extra hour to myself after school somedays. So hard to know what I’d do with an actual day off … whenever I think I’ve got one I find I still come home to people who haven’t eaten all day or a child who should have been put to bed hours earlier. 🙂

  6. If Mom can’t find it, no one can find it!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.